Related Library Guides
- Business Subject GuideThe purpose of this guide is to offer you a more comprehensive tool for identifying UConn's business resources.
- Literature Review: The What, Why and How-to GuideThis guide describes "literature reviews" and the process of writing them.
- International Government Information: World BankThe World Bank makes some of its work freely available online. Links for World Bank and other Intergovernmental Organization documents.
Recommended Web Sites
- BIS: Central bank and monetary authority websitesEstablished in 1930, the BIS is owned by 60 central banks. Its website includes a variety of links to various countries.
- Data Sources from the AEA (American Economic Association)Links to some of the most useful and popular economics data sources, categorized by data type.
- European Central BankThe European Central Bank (ECB) is the central bank of the 19 European Union countries which have adopted the euro. Its main task is to maintain price stability in the euro area and so preserve the purchasing power of the single currency.
- The Federal Reserve BoardThe Federal Reserve System is the central bank of the United States. It performs five general functions to promote the effective operation of the U.S. economy and, more generally, the public interest.
Best Databases in Economics
- EconLitTopics include economic development, forecasting, and history; fiscal and monetary theory; business and public finance; international, health care, regional and urban economics, and more. 1969-current.
- NBER Working PapersWorking papers published by National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) researchers, intended for other professional economists. 11/1994-current. Search "central banks" for general information, filter by "past 3 years"
- Google ScholarScholarly articles, books, theses on a variety of topics through Google interface.
- Configuring Google Scholar: Working with UConn DatabasesRefer to this guide so that you may access full text material within the UConn collection as you search with Google Scholar.
Related Databases
- ABI/INFORM Collection
This link opens in a new window
Articles in business, finance, and more 1991-current (full text); 1971-current (index & abstracts only). - Business Source CompleteArticles from journals covering such topics as management, economics, finance, international business, and more (full text).
- JSTORArticles from journals in business, economics, finance, and more (full text). Some date back to early 1900s to most recent 2-5 years. Use Advanced search and select subjects: Economics, Business, etc.
- World Bank Open DataAccess to global development data covering agriculture, manufacturing, health indicators, education, natural resources, and foreign investment in the economies of over 200 developing nations.
Evaluate Sources
- Evaluating InformationThis tutorial provides a framework for thinking critically about the information you may encounter.
