Teaching with Zines
- In the ruins of zine pedagogy: a narrative study of teaching with zinesIn this in-depth analysis, Karin H. deGravelles' Ph.D. dissertation, In the ruins of zine pedagogy: a narrative study of teaching with zines, explores the praxis of using zines in the classroom.
- Teaching with ZinesThis zine is a great introduction to using zines in the classroom by Kathleen Aragon, Deanie Adams, Jolie Braun, Emma Fernhout, Juli Huddleston, Kelly McElroy, Sarah G. Wenzel, and Kelly Wooten (2018).
- Teaching Info Lit with ZinesIn this zine, Kelly McElroy uses the ACRL Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education to frame three sample lesson plans for undergraduates.
Lesson Plans
- Lesson Plans from Barnard College LibraryThe Barnard Library website includes three lesson plans aimed at grades 7 through undergraduate students, as well as a variety of resources including articles and books.
Teaching with Zines at UConn
Interested in adding Zine making to your syllabus for a class project?
The Archives & Special Collections, located at the Dodd Research Center, welcomes classes to engage with zines held across personal archives, fanzine collections, and cataloged periodicals in zine format. After an initial visit to review the collections, the UConn Archives offers a Zine Maker's Kit which can be checked out for up to two weeks per class. The archives does have space restrictions for hosting larger class sizes, so please be prepared for a flexible schedule to book a session with our staff.
For more information, please contact Graham Stinnett (graham.stinnett@UConn.edu) for further information.
