LibGuides: Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies Subject Guide: Databases & Journals

Databases & Journals

Since WGSS is a rich, multi-dimensional field of study, there are many journals and databases available at UConn Library relating to the histories, experiences, and cultures of sexual and gender minority groups. Below are lists of WGSS databases and core journals where you can access full-text, online resources from on or off campus!

To access databases & journals, log in with your UConn Net ID and password

For questions or assistance with databases & journals, contact the WGSS Librarian, Stephanie Birch, at stephanie.birch@uconn.edu

WGSS Databases

Search WGSS and multi-disciplinary databases to access primary and secondary sources online! Hover over the database titles below to see detailed descriptions of the scope and content of each database. Note: There are many other databases not listed here, which are multidisciplinary in nature, and contain resources for many fields, including Women's Gender & Sexuality Studies. These include Jstor, Academic Search Premier, PsycInfo, and more.

Alternative Press Index
Includes article abstracts covering cultural, economic, political & social change.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940
Includes articles, manuscripts, images, and correspondence on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities globally; sex and sexuality; and related issues.
British and Irish Women’s Letters and Diaries
Includes personal writings by 500 British and Irish women.
Defining Gender
Includes articles, pamphlets, diaries, and primary source materials providing a European perspective between 1450-1910.
Independent Voices
Alternative press publications produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals and the New Left, Native peoples, antiwar activists, Black Power advocates, Latino/as, LGBT activists, right-wing extremists, and more.
LGBT Life with Full Text
Covers gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues including civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, psychology, and religion.
The Lily
Access to the online archive of the Lily (1849-1856), a temperance and abolitionist newspaper, and the first newspaper for women.
Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries
Includes personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts.
North American Women’s Letters and Diaries
Access to personal writings (letters, diaries, and memoirs) by hundreds of US and Canadian women.
Women's Magazine Collection
Access to several popular consumer magazines, published between 1846 and 2005, that were originally intended for a female readership.
Women's Studies Archive: Issues and Identities
Includes manuscripts, ephemera, documents, newspapers, periodicals, journals, history collections, and women’s literature covering historical, social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Women's Studies International
Includes abstracts for articles, newsletters, books, proceedings, and dissertations covering current topics in feminist research.
Women and Social Movements, International - 1840 to present
Includes personal letters and diaries, conference proceedings, periodicals, books, and other materials from international women activists from 1840 to the present.
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820
Includes articles and personal narratives featuring the voices of women as agents, targets, and resisters of colonialism and imperialism since 1820.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Includes books, images, essays, book and website reviews, and other primary sources covering various women's and social movements between 1600-2000.

Core WGSS Journals

Looking for scholarly, peer-reviewed articles? Here are some librarian-recommended WGSS journals where you can start your search. To access full-text articles, login using your Net ID and password. Note: Some articles may not be accessible online and may be available in print format and/or can be requested through interlibrary loan.

Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies Subject Guide — Databases & Journals

Databases & Journals

WGSS Databases

Core WGSS Journals