LibGuides: Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies Subject Guide: Data and Statistics

Searching for Data and Statistics

Data and statistics about a specific topic can be difficult to find. Before searching, ask yourself the question "who cares about this topic?" The answer will guide your research. For example,

Topic: How have abortion numbers changed over the last 3 years?

Who cares? The CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) might track this information

Look for "Reproductive Health": https://www.cdc.gov/reproductivehealth/data_stats/

Looking for public health information, government data?

US Department of Health and Human Services

HHS agencies:

Finding Data

US Department of Labor Women's Bureau - Data and Statistics
Current and historical data related to women in the workforce.
US Census

The Status of Women in the States

UN Women: Women Count Data Hub

UN Women: Making Every Woman and Girl Count 2020 Annual Report

The World Bank's Gender Data Portal
Gender Equality Data & Statistics is a one stop source of information on gender at the country level and a compilation of data on key gender topics from national statistics agencies, United Nations databases, and World Bank-conducted or funded surveys. The database is continuously updated as new information becomes available. Data is organized by theme or region and it allows you to create your own queries.
UN's The World's Women reports
Reports prepared by the Statistics Division of the UN Department for Economic and Social Affairs (UN DESA) at five-year intervals, starting in 1990.
UN's Minimum Set of Gender Indicators
A collection of 51 quantitative indicators and 11 qualitative indicators measuring and collecting information on issues relevant for gender equality and women's empowerment.
PBR: Population Reference Bureau
International and US statistics on gender issues including health, education, political involvement, reproductive health. Choose data by state, country, or region. Constantly updated. Check out Data Center and Resource Library tabs.
IPU: Women in Parliment
2019- present: Monthly rankings of the percentage of women in national parliaments.
Gapminder.org
Data visualizations of over 400 tables of data from reputable sources (e.g., ILO, WHO, UN) collected over spans of years and dynamically graphed to show parts of the world (poor, middle, and wealthy, etc.) and allow a time lapse view of the changes. Searchable by keyword. Many gender specific topics, international in scope, allows comparison of specific countries, and more.

Statista: LGBTQ+ worldwide - Statistics & Facts
Healthy People 2023: LGBT
Healthy people is coordinated by the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health, Office of the Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
CDC: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health
2020 Census: LGBTQ+
Movement Advancement Project Equality Maps
An independent, nonprofit think tank with data specific to LGBTQ+ population in the US.
Trevor Project 2021 National Survey on LGBTQ Mental Health

Statista
Provides statistics on media, the environment, business and industry, sports, communication, politics, health care and more. Geographic coverage is worldwide, with particular emphasis on the United States, China, and European Union countries.
ICPSR
Access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction covering political science, demographics, history, economics, and international relations.
OECD Social and Welfare Statistics Database
Statistics on various social policy areas including old age, survivors, incapacity-related benefits, health, family, active labor market programmes, unemployment, and housing.
World Bank Open Data
Access to global development data covering agriculture, manufacturing, health indicators, education, natural resources, and foreign investment in the economies of over 200 developing nations.

Survey Research

CDC: Reproductive Healtth - Data and Statistics
CDC National Center for Health Statistics: Women's Health
General women's health data from the CDC (US specific).
- CDC FastStats
- CDC: Contraceptive Use
Healthdata.gov
Searchable datasets of US government health data.
Health Resources & Services Administration: Maternal & Child Health
Historical reports from HRSA on Maternal & Child Health. Current reports found under "Data & Research" tab.
Kaiser Family Foundation: Women's Health
US data on: abortion, maternal mortality, family planning and sick leave, health insurance coverage, STIs, cancer, etc.
World Health Organization: Women and health
Global data on select topics related to women's health.

COVID-19 and Gender Monitor
Data and reports from UN Women on COVID-19.
Kaiser Family Foundation: COVID-19
COVID-19 disparities by race/ethnicity, mental health, access to care, etc.
Sex, Gender and COVID-19 Project
A project tracking global sex-disaggregated data on COVID-19 from Global Health 50/50, International Center for Research on Women, and the African Population and Health Research Center.

Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies Subject Guide — Data and Statistics

Searching for Data and Statistics

Finding Data