LibGuides: Health Subject Guide: Select Databases

Select Databases

PubMed is the primary health database and has articles about any health topic, but depending on your focus, another database might be better. Specialized databases cover more journals in specific health disciplines and may even offer unique limits (filters) that make it easier to find information.

If you want to find articles about stress in college students that have a medical focus, PubMed is best. For a more of a psychological focus, search PsycInfo, or if you are interested in the nursing perspective, try CINAHL.

Choose the database you think fits your topic the closest. If you don't find enough articles, you can always try another. Don't be surprised if you see the same citation in different databases. Popular journals will be included in many different databases.

Key Databases

PubMed
Scholarly journal articles about health and medicine, nursing, audiology, and biology.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Scholarly journal articles about nursing and allied health including nursing interventions, education, theory, and history as well as physical and occupational therapy.
Scopus
Scholarly journal articles and conference papers on any topic in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Includes cited references and h-index information.
PsycInfo (APA PsycInfo)
Scholarly articles in psychology, plus medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, criminology, social science, business, & organizational behavior.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Scholarly journal articles about sociology and other social and behavioral sciences. Includes culture & social structure; economic development; evaluation research; family & social welfare; management and complex organizations; policy planning.
SPORTDiscus
Scholarly journal articles about sport, fitness, and physical education topics including both practical and research literature.
Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Cochrane Library
Collection of various evidence based medicine databases providing information on treatments and medical interventions to support effective decision making in practice.
Merative Micromedex
Drug and dosage information, toxicological substances, patient information databases, and other data to support clinical care decisions.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Indexes doctoral dissertations completed in the U.S. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations.

Evidence Based Practice "Filtered" Databases

Filtered databases, such as the Cochrane Library means that someone has already appraised the quality of studies and often make a recommendation for practice. Filtered information can also be found in other research databases (i.e. PubMed, CINAHL, PsycINFO), but you must use the limits associated with each databases to find filtered information like systematic reviews, meta-analysis, etc.

Cochrane Library
Collection of various evidence based medicine databases providing information on treatments and medical interventions to support effective decision making in practice.

PubMed Clinical Queries
A subset of PubMed that retrieves targeted results to clinical questions. Filters limit your search in three clinical research areas: Clinical Study Categories (Diagnosis, Therapy, etc.), Systematic Reviews, and Medical Genetics.

DynaMed
Access to scientific literature, clinical practice guidelines, and evidence-based content for practicing clinicians.
For use by UConn Faculty, Students, and Staff Only. Access for UConn Affiliates is not permitted.

TRIP (free version)
Clinical search engine that searches a number of sites for evidence-based healthcare information to support clinical practice and/or care.

PEDro: The Physiotherapy Evidence Database
Access to over 50,000 randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines relevant to physical therapy.

Sometimes health associations create gold standards for treating conditions called Clinical Practice Guidelines. Clinical Practice guidelines are statements that include recommendations intended to optimize patient care that are informed by a systematic review of evidence and an assessment of the benefits and harms of alternative care options.

PubMed
Search by keyword, then browse the Article Types option (located on the left side of the screen) for Practice Guideline. Selecting an Article Type is a 3-step process: 1) Click "More" under Article Types; 2) Check the box for "Practice Guideline" and click [Show]; "Practice Guideline" will now show on left column; 3) Click it once more to limit results to practice guidelines.

ECRI Guidelines Trust
The ECRI Guidelines Trust is a new database intended to replace the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) National Guidelines Clearinghouse (NGC). The ECRI Guidelines Trust is a free resource, although an account must be created to save searches and previously browsed topics.
TRIP
Search by keyword, then click the link for Guidelines on the results page.

DynaMed
Search by keyword, appending the word guidelines. E.g. mammography guidelines.
For use by UConn Faculty, Students, and Staff Only. Access for UConn Affiliates is not permitted.

ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing & Prescription
Shelved on the 2nd floor of the Babbidge Library. Call number: Call Number: RM725 .A48 2014
ACSM's Resource Manual for Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription
Companion to ACSM's Guidelines. Shelved on the 2nd floor of the Babbidge Library. Call number: RM725 .A27 2014
Diagnosis and Treatment of Adults with Community-acquired Pneumonia.
An Official Clinical Practice Guideline of the American Thoracic Society and Infectious Diseases Society of America.

Health information is full of scientific jargon and difficult for most people to understand. Consumer health information is written so that people with no medical knowledge can understand it. These sources provide quality information written by professionals.

Health Subject Guide — Select Databases

Select Databases

Key Databases