Skip to Main Content

New Titles at the UConn Library Hartford

This guide includes titles recently added to UConn Library Hartford collections

New Titles (Winter Session 2023-24)

If you have suggestions for career-related titles you would like to see added to our collections, contact Marsha Lee marsha.m.lee@uconn.edu or submit a purchase request here: https://universityofconnecticut-twnqs.formstack.com/forms/rcrp

If you have suggestions for humanities-related titles you would like to see added to our collections, contact Marsha Lee marsha.m.lee@uconn.edu or submit a purchase request here: https://universityofconnecticut-twnqs.formstack.com/forms/rcrp

If you have suggestions for social work titles you would like to see added to our collections, contact Janice Mathews  or submit a purchase request here: https://universityofconnecticut-twnqs.formstack.com/forms/rcrp

If you have suggestions for titles you would like added to this collection, contact library staff at lib-greaterhartford@ad.uconn.edu or submit a purchase request here: https://universityofconnecticut-twnqs.formstack.com/forms/rcrp.

The Changing American Neighborhood: The Meaning of Place in the Twenty-First Century

Why good neighborhoods? -- Understanding neighborhood change: a dynamic systems approach -- The rise of the American urban neighborhood, 1860-1950 -- The American urban neighborhood under siege, 1950-2000 -- The great divergence: the polarization of the American neighborhood, 1990-2020 -- Neighborhoods as markets -- Neighborhoods in an era of demographic change and -- Economic restructuring -- Race and its continuing yet changing significance -- Agents of change: city governments, community development corporations, anchor institutions, and others -- Deconstructing gentrification -- Can the center hold? The crisis of the urban middle neighborhood -- Stuck in place: the persistence of concentrated poverty and disinvestment -- Neighborhood change in the suburbs -- Conclusion: the theory and practice of neighborhood change.

Accountability in State Legislatures

"State legislatures hold tremendous authority over key facets of our lives, in domains ranging from healthcare to education to election administration. And in an era of polarization and frequent policy gridlock at the national level, their significance has only increased. Political scientist Steven Rogers asks what voters know about state legislators, whether they have a meaningful opportunity to register their preferences in state legislative elections, and if there is evidence of accountability for performance in the outcomes of those elections. Drawing on broad-ranging evidence and creative research strategies, Rogers shows that, most often, state legislatures can produce policies contrary to citizens' priorities with little fear of being held accountable at the ballot box. Assembling an encyclopedic range of data on candidacy and retirements, lawmaker issue stances, news coverage, general elections, primaries, electoral competition, legislator effectiveness, state economic performance, public opinion, voter knowledge, and election outcomes, this book foregrounds a major issue: Voters do not know enough about their state representatives. They are often not presented with alternatives in elections where incumbents routinely run unopposed, and outcomes normally fail to correlate with indicators of legislative performance, either for individual lawmakers or in the aggregate performance of state government"-- Provided by publisher.

In a Bad State: Responding to State and Local Budget Crises

In a Bad State provides the first comprehensive history and theory of how the federal government has addressed subnational debt crises. Tracing the long history of public budgeting at the state and local level, David Schleicher argues that federal officials face a "trilemma" when a state or city nears default. But whether they demand state austerity, permit state defaults, or provide bailouts-and all have been tried-federal officials can only achieve two out of three goals, at best. Authoritative and accessible, this book is a guide to understanding the pressing problems that local, state, and federal officials currently face and the policy options they possess for responding.

Creative Commons  This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License. | Details and Exceptions