Navigating the Library: Click each tab to learn about the physical locations
Key:
- My Accounts: Access your library account (good for checking all the books you have out!) with your NetID and password
- Ask a Librarian: Live chat with an UConn librarian or search the library FAQ
- Navigation Menu: Access to Resources, Services, Locations and information About the Library
- General Search (the Search Bar): The Google of the UConn library. Search for books, ebooks, media, articles and more.
- Databases: The main access point for the UConn Library Databases
- Research Guides: Library resources & research tips tailored to your subject
- Group Study Rooms: Need a place to study? (Coming soon Fall 2021)
- Interlibrary Services: Request items (books, articles, films, etc.) owned by the UConn Library and beyond
- Undergraduate Students Start Guide: Useful information about the library in one place. Good for getting started
2021-2022
- UConn Library Homepage - PDF2021-2022
The Plaza level is the busiest part of the library, with the campus community entering and leaving, asking for help from staff, and checking out materials at the iDesk.
You'll find:
- the iDesk (860.486.2518), directions, general research help; printed maps for the library, pick up books, check out laptops and study room keys
- Auriemma Reading Room
- New Books area
- Photocopier
- Lost and Found, Security
- BookWorms Area: Café; On Campus Printing, Scanner. Bookworms Cafe accepts points and HuskyBucks.
You'll find:
- Computers
- Maker Studio
- Visualization Studio (1101)
- Greenhouse Studios
- Instruction Rooms 1102, 1136, 1137
- Scanner
- Group Study Rooms
- All Gender Restroom
- IT Support Helpdesk
You'll find:
- Writing Center
- Art & Design Library (Quiet Study)
- Instruction Rooms 2118C & 2119A - Video Theaters 1 and 2
- Lockers providing temporary lockable space. Check out a key at iDesk. 2 week loan, non-renewable
- Instruction Room 2118
- Scanner
- Group Study Rooms
Science and Social Sciences Collections
Call Numbers: H, J, Q, R, S, T, N
- Q Center (Quantitative Learning Center) : Drop-in tutoring focusing on lower-division Q courses in Chemistry, Math, Physics, and Statistics
- Individual study carrels (15 available): Individual study rooms are available for checkout at the iDesk. 4 hours /some with windows. Max 2 people
- Lockers providing temporary lockable space. Check out a key at iDesk. 2 week loan, non-renewable.
- Journals and Magazines
- Scanner
- Group Study Rooms
- Graduate Study Commons (graduate students only)
- Wellness Room, 3112
Level 4
4 North: Quiet Study Area (whispering only)
- Fourth Floor Conference Room
- Humanities Institute
- Heritage Room
- Group Study Rooms
Geography, History, Literature, Psychology, and Religion Collections and the Oversize Collection
Call Numbers: B, C, D, E, F, G, P, PT, PZ
Level B
You'll find:
- Leisure Reading Room
- Lactation Room
- UConn Police Community Outreach Unit
- Wellness and Meditation Space
- Federal & State Documents Primary Research material in the State and Federal government documents
- Microform Collections
- Microfilm Reader/Scanners
- Scanners
Dewey Collection : 000-999
Connecticut Docs
Federal Docs
Level A
Quiet Study Area
You'll find:
Law, Military Science & Naval Science, Bibliography & Library Science Collections
Call Numbers: A, K, L, U, V, Z, UConn Theses & Dissertations
- Noise: Be respectful of those studying or working around you.
- Food: To help keep our facilities as sanitary and safe as possible, no food or drink (other than bottled beverages) is allowed in the Library. see https://covid.uconn.edu/campus-guidelines
- Hours: See the hours link on the library homepage. We extend hours during exam periods and reduce them during recess and inter session times.
- Borrowing: Have your HuskyCard at all times to borrow material and check out rooms. Read your UConn email to receive reminders and important information about your account. This can help avoid fines.
- Printing Using Wepa, the university self service printing service, you can print documents at any of the Wepa printers. Both Color and Black and White are available. Printers in the library are located on Level 1, B and Bookworms. See https://confluence.uconn.edu/display/IKB/On-Campus+Printing for locations and more information.
FAQs
• How are books organized in the library?
The library stacks are closed. Please request materials online and pick up at the location of your choice.
As with many college libraries, we use the Library of Congress system. Books are organized by subject See Call Number Floor Map for details on locations or pick up a Call Number Bookmark at the iDesk. Materials can be found in Storrs, at a regional campus library or online.
• How do I borrow books from other libraries?
Interlibrary Services allows you to borrow materials at no cost to you from the UConn libraries and libraries worldwide. Materials from other libraries are delivered to Storrs or to the UConn campus library of your choice.
• Where are the study rooms?
Check https://guides.lib.uconn.edu/studyspace for information about the various spaces.
Reserve a Group Study Room: Need a place to study with a group? Reserve a group study space now!
• How can I get research help?
Chat with Ask a Librarian or ask for help at the iDesk on the Plaza level.
When the chat service is offline, check out the FAQ, the Research Quickstart guide or the Research Now modules.
Library Accounts
My Accounts:
UConn Library Account: View and renew items you’ve checked out from the UConn Library
MyILLiad: View and renew interlibrary loan ILLiad items; request articles, books, media not owned by UConn Library and Scans of materials from the library collection
RefWorks and Zotero: Manage bibliographies and citations
MyEBSCOHost: (optional): Save search strategies, set up personalized email alerts, and create folders to save results. Create your own account or use your UConn Google account.
Google Scholar and UConn
- Using Google Scholar: Configure for UConnDo you use Google Scholar off campus? If so, it is critical to configure it for UConn so you can connect to full text articles.
