Introducing the Online Library
The UConn Library's Databases are organized by subjects. This page affords and opportunity to explore with their students the variety of approaches they might take to exploring their topic - before they ever start clicking around in a database!
For example:
Your students are interested in exploring the intersections between poverty and health.
In this list of subjects:
- Who might be writing and thinking about your subject? (nutrition, psychology, sociology, urban studies, etc.)
- What different materials or approaches might each discipline cover?
This is an excellent opportunity for dialog with your students - helping them to begin to critically engage with their topic.
For students that don't know what kind of approach they want to take, Academic Search Premier is an excellent resource for allowing students to explore their topic.
- Academic Search Premier
This link opens in a new window
Includes many different kinds of sources, including scholarly journal articles and popular magazines. Multidisciplinary. An excellent source for students finding a focus for their research interest. - CQ ResearcherIn-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
- Issues & ControversiesSummarizes current issues and controversies in political, economic, social and scientific topics.
- UConn's DatabasesUConn's Databases are available in the Research Database Locator which is organized by subjects or can be searched by alphabetic order or by typing the name of the database.
Research Start Guides For Your Students
- Research QuickstartProvides a starting guide to using the library's resources for research, along with quick looks at primary/secondary sources, scholarly/popular, reading citations, and using Google Scholar.
- Research NowDevelop research skills – from developing a research question, to understanding how information is created and used, to finding and evaluating resources critically and responsibly. Prosper in the information universe!
- Undergraduate Student Start GuideCollects information on Research Guides, Library Help, Library Services and Policies, Technology Lending, Library FAQ, etc. If your students have any questions about using the library, this guide is a great starting point!
- FYE: First Year Experience - Storrs — Babbidge LibaryAn introduction to college research and library resources and services at the Homer Babbidge Library in Storrs. The guide includes links to basic tutorials.
