Finding Competitors
Listed below are resources that can be used to compile a list of companies based on specific criteria such as industry or geographic location, number of employees, or total revenues. While the level of information will vary from source to source, most of these resources include details such as company name, brief business description, names of key officers, address and phone number, list of products, and basic financial information.
- Mergent OnlineMergent Online database covers U.S. and foreign publicly traded companies. You can search by company name or ticker symbol, SIC and NAICS code. The Advanced Search tab offers many other search variables such as country of operation, country of incorporation, number of employees or shareholders, financial information, ratios, pricing, and textual search
Reference USA: Most public libraries subscribe to this database. It provides directory information for public and private businesses and organizations. Some of the data included are contact information, SIC code, the names of company executives, sales volumes, and number of employees. Check your Local Libraries.
- The Yellow PagesThe Yellow Pages is an online business directory organized by categories. It allows you to find commercial listings.
Size Up Your Competition
The art of business valuation : accurately valuing a small business Caruso, Gregory R., author. by
Starting from the practical viewpoint of, "I would rather be approximately right than perfectly wrong" this book provides a commonsense comprehensive framework for small business valuation that offers solutions to common problems faced by valuators and consultants both in performing valuations and providing ancillary advisory services to business owners, sellers, and buyers. If you conduct small business valuations, you may be seeking guidance on topics and problems specific to your work. Focus on What Matters: A Different Way of Valuing a Small Business fills a previous void in valuation resources. It provides a practical and comprehensive framework for small and very small business valuation (Companies under $10 million of revenues and often under $5 million of revenues), with a specialized focus on the topics and problems that confront valuators of these businesses. Larger businesses typically have at least Reviewed Accrual Accounting statements as a valuation starting point. However, smaller businesses rarely have properly reviewed and updated financials. Focus on What Matters looks at the issue of less reliable data, which affects every part of the business valuation. You'll find valuation solutions for facing this challenge. As a small business valuator, you can get direction on working with financial statements of lower quality. You can also consider answers to key questions as you explore how to value each small business. Is this a small business or a job? How much research and documentation do you need to comply with standards? How can you use cash basis statements when businesses have large receivables and poor cutoffs? Should you use the market method or income method of valuation? Techniques that improve reliability of the market method multiplier How might you tax affect using the income method with the advent of the Estate of Jones and Section 199A? Do you have to provide an opinion of value or will a calculation work? How do you calculate personal goodwill? As a valuation professional how can you bring value to owners and buyers preparing to enter into a business sale transaction? How does the SBA loan process work and why is it essential to current small business values? What is the business brokerage or sale process and how does it work? How do owners increase business value prior to a business sale? This book examines these and other questions you may encounter in your valuation process. You'll also find helpful solutions to common issues that arise when a small business is valued.
ISBN: 1119606004Publication Date: 2020-08-20
Locate other businesses in your area similar to your own. These resources will help you find out this information!
- County Business Patterns (CBP)Provides subnational economic data by industry, including the number of establishments, employment, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll.
This annual series provides data about establishments with paid employees. It includes number of establishments, number of employees, and payroll by industry and by size for the US, states, metro areas, counties, and zip codes.
- Nonemployer StatisticsAn annual series of information about businesses without paid employees that are subject to federal income tax. Most nonemployers are self-employed individuals operating very small unincorporated businesses, which may or may not be the owner's principal source of income.
