About Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary loan is a free service for all UConn students, faculty, and staff to request copies of books, articles, book chapters, audiovisual media, and other physical and digital items not owned by the UConn Library. This outlines briefly the most common types of requests: articles found in library databases, books, and requests for specific items when the author, title, and other details are known.
For further information, visit the Interlibrary Services webpage.
Requesting Articles from Databases
The "UConn Full Text" button is superimposed next to database search results to help you locate the full text of the article. If the article is not immediately available in full text, this button will guide you to request form for our free interlibrary loan service. Look for the UConn Full Text button in most library database search results:
Requesting Books through WorldCat
WorldCat is a global bibliographic database that is great for locating books on any topic. WorldCat search results will indicate if UConn owns each item by linking to our library catalog entry. If we don't own it, look for the "Request Item" button to initiate an Interlibrary Loan request:
Requesting Items by Citation
If you already have the bibliographic information (title/author/year/etc.) of a specific item you want to request and you know UConn does not own a copy, ILLiad provides simple forms to input the data and initiate your request. Click "Place Request" to request books, articles, book chapters, or other materials.
