Current News Databases (see database search tips below)
- Newspapers through ProQuestFull text (no images) of:
- Hartford Courant (1992-Current)
- Wall Street Journal (1984-Current)
- Washington Post (1987-Current)
- New York Times (1980-Current)
- Hartford Courant (1992-Current)
- Nexis UniFull text of various newspapers, magazines, wire services, radio and TV transcripts.
- FactivaAccess to global news and business information articles.
Historical Newspaper Databases
- Early American Newspapers (1690-1922)Digitally scanned newspapers from all 50 states between 1690-1922.
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersFull text (including PDF page images) of:
- Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
- Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988
- Boston Globe (1872-1988)
- Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
- Chicago Tribune (1849-1996)
- Chinese Newspaper Collection (1832-1953)
- Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
- Hartford Courant (1764-1993)
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
- Lost Angeles Times (1881-1995)
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
- New York Times (1851-2014)
- New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962)
- Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003)
- Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
- Times of India (1838-2010)
- Wall Street Journal (1889-2002)
- Washington Post (1877-2002)
- Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
Tips for searching news databases
Tips for searching ProQuest databases:
- Broaden your search with synonyms: separate synonyms with OR within a single box to search for articles with any of the words
- Connecting search boxes with AND narrows the search to articles that include words from both boxes
- Searching for specific phrases by enclosing them in quotation marks: "American Manufacturing Competitiveness Act of 2016"
- Truncation character * searches for variations on a search term: farm* finds: farm, farms, farmer, farming
- Document type search filter can be used to limit your search to obituaries, editorial cartoons, advertisements, etc.
Tips for searching Nexis Uni:
- Use the Advanced Search interface to build a search strategy incorporating phrase searching, synonyms, etc.
- Searching for specific phrases by enclosing them in quotation marks: "American Manufacturing Competitiveness Act of 2016"
- Truncation character ! searches for variations on a search term: farm! finds: farm, farms, farmer, farming
- Use proximity search connector w/n to search for terms within a specified number of words of each other: tariffs w/5 pork retrieves only articles where the two words appear within 5 words of each other
Connecticut news sources
- Hartford CourantFull text of the Hartford Courant from 1992 - present.
- Hartford Courant (Proquest Historical Newspapers)Full-text of the Hartford Courant from 1764-1996.
- Early American Newspapers (1690-1922)Early American Newspapers contains content from more than 50 Connecticut newspapers from the 1750s through the early 20th century. See the Browse Publications link and search for 'Connecticut' to see titles and time range (many titles have only a few issues in the database).
- FactivaInclude the region source code rst=usct in your search to search CT news sources, including:
- Patch
- Berlin Citizen
- Bristol Press
- Cheshire Herald
- The Chronicle (Willimantic)
- Connecticut Law Tribune
- Connecticut Post (Bridgeport)
- CT News Junkie
- Daily Campus
- Darien Daily Voice
- The Day (New London)
- Darien Daily Voice
- Darien News-Review
- Fairfield Citizen News
- Fairfield County Business Journal
- Fairfield Daily Voice
- Greenwich Daily Voice
- Greenwich Time
- Journal Inquirer (Manchester, Conn.)
- Milford Mirror
- New Canaan Advertiser
- New Canaan Daily Voice
- New Canaan News-Review
- New Canaanite
- New Haven Register (Tribune Content Agency)
- Newtown Bee, The
- Norwalk Daily Voice
- Record-Journal (Meriden, Conn.)
- Rivereast News Bulletin
- Shelton Herald
- Stamford Daily Voice
- The Bulletin (Norwich, Conn.)
- The Darien Times
- The Day (Tribune Content Agency) (New London, Conn.)
- The Hartford Courant
- The Herald (New Britain, Conn.)
- The Hour (Tribune Content Agency) (Norwalk, Conn.)
- The New Milford Spectrum
- The News-Times (Danbury, Conn.)
- The North Haven Citizen
- The Plainville Citizen
- The Ridgefield Press
- The Southington Citizen
- The Stamford Advocate
- The Wilton Bulletin
- Town Times (Middlefield, Conn.)
- Town Times (Watertown, Conn.)
- Trumbull Times
- Westport Daily Voice
- Wilton Daily Voice
- Patch
