LibGuides: _MKTG5625: Marketing for Global Competitiveness: India

India Country Report

Political Risk Yearbook: India
A country report for India as of August 2014 is presented. Topics discussed include regime scenarios with political parties such as the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and United Progressive Alliance (UPA), 18-month and five-year forecasts of political risk to international business, and forecasts regarding real gross domestic product (GDP) growth, inflation, and current account to 2019. Also mentioned are the climate for investment and trade, international agreements, and labor conditions

Recommended Online Sources of International Legal Information For India

Consumers International: India Topics
Organization dedicated to promoting ethical treatment of consumers worldwide.
Encycogov: Encyclopedia of Corporate Governance
Encycogov is an interactive encyclopedia about corporate governance and financial issues. It contains a broad base of information about international law and the legal systems of the countries of the world.
Library of Congress Guide to Law Online: India
Resources from the Law Library of Congress.
U.S. Patent Office: Intellectual Property Toolkits
The U.S. Patent office provides toolkits on how to protect your intellectual property in a variety of other countries.
United Nations: International Law
Provides an overview of international law, including treaties and organizations.
WASHLAW: India
From Washburn University School of Law, a collection of links to Indian legal resources.
World Trade Organization: Trade topics for India
The World Trade Organization (of which the U.S. is a signatory) monitors and regulates international trade. They have many resources on the legality of a variety of trade practices, and many resources on intellectual property.

Recommended Online Sources of International Economic/Financial Information

OECD: India
The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) provides a setting where governments compare policy experiences, seek answers to common problems, identify good practice and coordinate domestic and international policies. The site includes economic, financial and societal information and much more.
The International Monetary Fund
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 187 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world. The site includes country information and global financial analysis.
The World Bank: Doing Business
Created using data from The World Bank, this website rates countries by their business accessibility and provides information on how long it takes to get various tasks done.
The World Bank: India
The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. As a part of its mission, it gathers and makes available international demographic, economic and statistical information.
The World Factbook: India
Compiled by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency, The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Transparency International
Provides information on worldwide economic corruption, including the Transparency Index, which ranks 180 countries according to their perceived levels of corruption.
U.S. Census Bureau: International Data Base
U.S. Bureau of the Census offers summary demographic information for 227 countries and areas of the world. Easy-to-use menus provide the most up-to-date country demographics along with projections.
University of Auckland: Official Stats
This website compiles links to official statistics published by governments worldwide.

Recommended Online Sources of International Market Information

Export.gov
Export.gov brings together resources from across the U.S. Government to assist American businesses in planning their international sales strategies and succeed in today’s global marketplace. Includes market research trade leads, export finance and more.
International Trade Administration
An agency of the U.S. Government, this site provides resources to strengthen the competitiveness of U.S. industry, promote trade and investment, and ensure fair trade through the rigorous enforcement of our trade laws and agreements.
FITA: International Market Research
From the Federation of International Trade Associations, this site includes country-specific market research and more.

Recommended Online Sources of Cultural Information

BBC News: Country Profile
Produced by the BBC, these reports focus on politics and media outlets in the countries they survey.
CASI: India in Transition
Sponsored by the Center for the Advanced Study of India, located at the University of Pennsylvania, this site includes access to information on a wide array of topics about Indian society and culture.
Global Edge: India
Michigan State University's website for business etiquette and cultural background information.
India and its Neighbors
Created by Vinay Lal, Associate Professor of History at UCLA, this site includes access to both scholarly and web-based resources on India.
Library of Congress: Country Study
Background historical information from the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress.
U.S. Department of State: Background Notes India
Information on India from the U.S. Department of State.

Cultural Resources on YouTube

There are many videos on the culture in India available on YouTube. Search for India and culture, for example, to see video discussions on that topic. Always be sure to evaluate online resources according to the criteria on the Evaluating Resources page in this guide to make sure they are accurate and authoritative!

(You're watching "Doing Business in India," a report on CNN from Dean Foster, of DFA Intercultural Global Solutions.))

Economic Analysis on YouTube

There are many videos on the economy in India available on YouTube. Search for India and economics (or economy of India), for example, to see video discussions on that topic. Always be sure to evaluate online resources according to the criteria on the Evaluating Resources page in this guide to make sure they are accurate and authoritative!

(You're watching a segment on the Indian economy from Standard & Poor's CreditMatters program in which Associate Rajiv Vishwanathan discusses some of the hurdles and risk factors facing the country's infrastructure projects.)

International Marketing on YouTube

YouTube has many videos on international market research. Search for India and the product you're working on to see video discussions on that topic. Always be sure to evaluate online resources according to the criteria on the Evaluating Resources page in this guide to make sure they are accurate and authoritative!

(You're watching "Ikea Enters India after Government Rulings are Relaxed" from Euromonitor.)

_MKTG5625: Marketing for Global Competitiveness — India