Skip to main content

Shared Content — Books & Articles

Reuse these boxes and widgets in your own guides.

What's Here

This page contains content boxes related to finding and requesting books and articles.

Getting Full Text Articles and Chapters

In a database, look for
UConn Full Text button

UConn Full Text will help you

1. Get the full text online if UConn subscribes to it
2. Check to see if we own the journal in print. Request a scan using Scan on Demand
3. Request what we do not own through Interlibrary Services

Off Campus Access

When you click on an online library resource, you will be asked for your UConn NetID

UConn NetID Single Sign On  Screen

Finding Books by Call Number

Finding Books on a Topic

Start with a keyword search. Keyword searches look for your terms in the title, author, description, and subject fields.
To find only books on the topic, Refine Results to books in the right column.

refine book results in primo

If you do not get any (or enough) results, your search might be too narrow or you might be entering too many terms (example: cigarette, smoking, health, teenagers, effects). Try to broaden your search by entering only one or two key concepts (smoking, teenagers).

If you get too many results, try to add terms to your search to explore a more specific aspect. For example, a search for "violence" produces over 10,000 results. Adding "media" produces still over 600 results. Searching "violence" "media" and "gender" together narrows the results to a (more) manageable number.

If you find books that might be useful, look at the subjects listed in the Details tab. Those subjects can be used to find more books on your topic.

Reading a Record

Records provide information about materials and their locations, in print or online.

A UConn Library General Search Record. The record reads Gender Violence at the US-Mexico border: media representation and public response. The record shows that it is available at the Babbidge Library at call number HV6250.4.W65 G475 2010 and reads Online access

The initial results displays the book title and author(s), publisher information, and access options.


The Find on Shelf section displays the physical location of the item and its loan policy, if you have signed in. The policy will depend on your status (student, faculty, etc). 

Verify the location, call number, and availability. If the item's location at a campus other than your home campus, you can request the item be sent to you using the Request from UConn link. If you are not signed in, this link will read Sign in to request.

Find a book in the Babbidge Library using the call number. You can use the locate option to see a map with the item's location.

Find On Shelf. This is a part of a UConn General Search Record. It reads Babbidge Library Stacks Call number HV6250.4.W65 G475 2010. 1 copy, 1 available, 0 requests)


View Online. The view section section shows sign in to request; the Project Muse E-boosk Link to access the item

The View Online section provides access to online version, if available. Clicking Online Access in the initial results will also take you to the View Online section.


The Details section provides more information on the item. Subjects can help find similar or more focused items related to your topic.

Details. the Details part of the record shows the title Gender violence at the US-Mexico border: media representation and public response. The Author, Hector Dominguez Ruvalcaba and Ignacio Corona. The Subjects Women--- Crimes against -- Mexico -- Ciudad Juarez; Gays --- Crimes against -- Mexico; Cross-dressers --- Crimes against -- Mexico; Murder -- Mexico; Mass media and crime --- Mexico

Requesting Books Not Owned by UConn

Search WorldCat to find and request items owned by other libraries.
Request items by clicking on Request Item.
Items can take anywhere from 2-14 business days to arrive.

Requesting Materials from UConn Campuses

The Request Service delivers items from UConn's collections to the campus library of your choice.

  • Search for your item using the Library General Search. 
  • Click on Sign in to Request to login to your library account using your NetID and password. (If you are already signed in, skip this step)

Sign in to request

  • Click on Request from UConn under Find on Shelf.

Request from UConn
 

  • Select your pickup location.
  • Click the Request button to submit. 
  • You will receive an email when your item is ready.

Using the Library's General Search

The UConn Library's General Search box enables you to access our books, electronic materials such as ejournals and ebooks, and Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA) materials with one search. Filters and facets narrow your results to suit your needs.