This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
| Details and Exceptions
Noise | Lending | Computers | Group/Individual Study Rooms | Tutoring | Maps | Scanning / Copying / Printing
If a patron complains on chat about noise, ask them for the location (e.g., Floor, North/South, general area) and text/call the security guard on duty at 860-208-6305. The patron can also use this number to report noise complaints and/or reach the guard on duty.
Lending/Technology Services
Tech items are paid for by UConn’s Student Technology Fee, and may only be checked out to UConn students. For additional information refer to iDesk (860.486.2518).
Items include laptops (Mac and Windows), camcorders, digital cameras, headphones, portable DVD players, graphing calculators, multi-device chargers.
The iDesk also circulates dry erase markers.
Check the Technology Services page for the most current list of items, or call/refer to the iDesk 860.486.2518.
Public link to share with patrons: https://lib.uconn.edu/location/homer-babbidge-library/homer-babbidge-technology-services/
Computers for Public Users (without a NetID)
A few machines are available on Plaza across from iDesk for patrons without a NetID
Patrons (with NetIDs) are welcome to use computers in classrooms when not in use/scheduled (schedules are posted outside the door). Netids are required to login.
Group and Individual Study Rooms are reserved through the "Student Study Spaces" link on the homepage https://lib.uconn.edu/services/rooms-public-spaces/student-study-spaces/
"Babbidge Booths" - individual telephone-booth style rooms are first come, first served and have no time limit.
more information on study spaces at Storrs https://faq.lib.uconn.edu/questions/21131
ITS Help Center (aka Husky Tech)- help with HuskyCT, networking, software, accounts, computer maintenance. Level 1
Patrons can request maps by emailing magic@uconn.edu. Access to print maps is provided via appointment only, and digital copies can be requested by email. A digitized portion of the UConn Library's map collection is also available at: https://www.flickr.com/photos/uconnlibrariesmagic/sets/72157617878169122/detail/.
Please have the patron allow 24 hours to retrieve physical maps (Monday - Friday).
Note that the map collection records on Primo are incomplete, but the collection is searchable on Alma. Feel free to email or slack Katie Fiducia (katie.fiducia@uconn.edu) with any questions or for urgent assistance.
For help/information, refer to UConn ITS/Husky Tech Help Desk. Library IT no longer manages public printers.
Husky Tech manages all printer toner and paper as well as printer issues. 860.486.4357 (HELP) or Level 1 in HBL
Scanners are available on Plaza, Levels 2, 3, 4. Black & white and color
There is no photocopier.
Printers are available in Bookworms and North Entrance (24-hour), and Level 1. Color printer on Level 1.
Avery Point library home page: https://lib.uconn.edu/location/avery-point-campus-library/
Library hours: https://lib.uconn.edu/about/library-location-hours/avery-point-campus-library/
Avery Point library policies: https://lib.uconn.edu/location/avery-point-campus-library/policies/
Gadgets/Equipment Loans
Tech items are paid for by UConn’s Student Technology Fee and may be checked out only by UConn students.
Items include laptops (Mac and Windows), calculators, multi-device chargers, headphones, digital camera, web cam, digital voice recorder, portable DVD player, and miscellaneous cords.
Check the Technology Services page for the most current list of items, or call/refer to Avery Point Library (860) 405-9146. Public link to share with patrons: https://lib.uconn.edu/location/avery-point-campus-library/avery-point-technology-services/
Additional equipment (first floor)
Group/Collaboration Rooms
The library has a variety of study area options. Individual study carrels, large group tables, several group study rooms, and comfortable seats are located on both floors of the library. Wireless internet access is available throughout the building. Members of the community are able to use study rooms, however, priority will be given to UConn users for academic purposes. Commercial use of these spaces is not allowed.
Reserve a room online at https://uconncalendar.lib.uconn.edu/reserve/AveryPointCampusLibrary, and then check out the room key at the Front Desk.
UConn faculty and staff may reserve study rooms in advance or for recurring appointments by contacting the Librarian: https://lib.uconn.edu/location/avery-point-campus-library/staff/
DUE TO THE FLOODING ISSUE ON THE HARTFORD CAMPUS, PLEASE CHECK THE HARTFORD PAGE FOR SERVICES/SPACES
https://lib.uconn.edu/location/hartford-campus-library/
Lending/Technology Services
Tech items are paid for by UConn’s Student Technology Fee, and may only be checked out to UConn students.
Items include laptops (Mac and Windows), digital camera, headphones, portable DVD player, green screen.
Check the Technology Services page for the most current list of items, or call/refer to the Hartford Campus Library (959) 200-3466.
Public link to share with patrons: https://lib.uconn.edu/location/hartford-campus-library/hartford-technology-services/
Most Group Project Rooms can be reserved through the Reserve a group project room link on the "Learning Spaces" page
Individual and focused spaces are open on the ground floor.
Tutoring
Gadgets | Computers | NetID | Group Study | Tutoring | Scanning/Copying/Printing
"Gadgets/Equipment" Loans: Technology Services
Our gadgets are available for use in the library only for 3-Hour/ 4-Hour loan periods. Popular items we loan are iPads, PC / MAC laptops, Headphones, Graphing/Scientific Calculators (1-Day Loan), Mac adapters, and ethernet / HDMI cables. For additional information, refer to the Library Services Desk, 203-251-8500.
Computers for Public User (without a NetID)
The Jeremy Richard Library has one (1) available computer for visitors / patrons without NetIDs on the first floor of the library.
Patron can use this computer for 30 minutes per day. Printing for visitors/ public users is not available at the Jeremy Richard Library.
We recommend printing from the local public library, The Ferguson Library, 96 Broad Street, Stamford, CT. Stamford's Public Library is one block away from the UConn Stamford campus. Or patrons can walk to a local printing services business on Summer Street, (1) Minute Men Press and (2)Rapid Press. Both copying/printing businesses are located on Summer Street, one block down from the Burlington Coat Factory.
Stamford Technology Group/ Tech Support Desk / Campus Technology
Help with NetID, Printing, Photocopying, and Scanning. The Tech Support desk is located at the Library Services desk.
Helpline: 203-251-9599
Group study rooms are on the first and second floor of the library. First come first served and can be signed out for 2- hours at a time. Students must return keys the library services desk and wait 15 minutes after the 2-hour limit if requesting more time in a study room.
Tutoring
Although walk-ins are welcome, we recommend making an online appointment through UConn Advising Appointments (AdvApp) .
Select "The Source (Stamford Writing Center & Q Center" from the drop-down menu.
Scanning/Copying/Printing
Scanners are available on the first floor and located near the library services desk. There is no charge for scanning.
The public copier is available on the first floor and located near the library services desk. Photocopying and printing are $.10 cents per page (B&W). You'll need your UConn ID to release your photocopies.
Two printers are available on the first floor, across from the library services desk. One (Color) printer is available and costs $.35 cents per page. You'll need your UConn ID to release your print jobs.
Members of the UConn Community are welcome to use the Waterbury Campus Library and may return or arrange to have items delivered to our campus. All public computers require a NetID and password.
For additional information, contact the library.
Equipment Loans
| Equipment | LOAN PERIOD |
| (2) iPads | 3 hours |
| (10) iPad Minis | 3-hours |
| DVD Player - SONY | 3 hours |
| USB DVD Drive | 3 hours |
| Laptop - DELL | 3 hours |
| (2) Laptop - MACBOOK Air | 3 hours |
| (2) Recorders- Digital Voice SONY | 3 hours |
| Headphones | 3 hours |
| (6)VGA to Mac Adapter- 30-pin | 3 hours |
| (2) ATV Pro VGA Adapter (Kanex) | 3 hours |
| Ethernet Cable | 3 hours |
| (2) VGA - VGA Cable | 3 hours |
| Smartboard Kit | 3 hours |
Additional equipment (first floor)
Individual and Group Study Rooms
Group study rooms are on a first come, first served basis and can be signed out for two hours at a time. Rooms are renewable if there is no wait. During busier times, priority is given to groups.
| Room | Description | Description | Equipment |
| 123C | Large Group Study Room | Accommodates groups of 4-8, laptop users may plug into the the "Media:Scape Equipment,. Provides very quiet space.. | Media:Scape for projecting from laptops, 42" monitor |
| 123F | Staff Conference Room/Video editing support | For staff use and approved groups. Contact the library for reservations. | jack/port, screen available |
| 227 A | Small Study Room | Accomodates up to 4 users, seating includes monitor to project laptop and table. Some noise carries from adjacent study room. | option to project laptop/monitor |
| 227 B | Small Study Room | Accommodates up to 4 users, seating includes monitor to project laptop and table; . Some noise carries from adjacent study room. | option to project laptop/monitor |
| 227E | Larger Study Room | Accommodates 4-8 users, seating includes movable tables, provides very quiet space | no technology; jack/port available |
| 321D | Larger Study Room | Accommodates 4-8 users, seating includes conference table, computer/monitor and provides very quiet space | Smartboard, computer; pack/port avaiable |
| "Cube | Larger Study Room | Accommodates 4-8 users, seating includes conference table, computer/monitor and option to plug in laptops; provides limited quiet space | option to project laptop/monitor |
The Writing Center is located within the library in room 227G. Refer to the link below for additional information.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
| Details and Exceptions