Ways of Viewing & Requesting Articles
See how to view and request full text articles from the library's website and databases, via Google Scholar, using browser extensions, and more!
Library Search at the UConn Library
Using the Library Search box
In the "Library Search" on UConn Library's website, many full text articles will be immediately accessible with your NetID. If not, you can login and easily request the article.
If we have access to the full text:
Tap the Download PDF or Read Article link.
If we don't have it:
Tap Check for request options underneath the reference.
Tap Get me this article and sign in with your NetID.
You'll be directed to your My ILLiad account and the form will most likely be auto-filled for you with the article information. Tap the blue Submit button at the bottom of the form. In some cases, you won't even have to deal with the ILLiad form!
Databases at the UConn Library
Using the UConn Full Text Buttons
In UConn Library's databases, you'll see our blue UConn Full Text button, providing easy access to our full text articles with your NetID. Tap the button once and follow the instructions to download or request the article.
If we have access to the full text:
Under View Online, tap one of the links. It shouldn't matter which one, as long as it says it contains the date when your article was published.
In the link that opens, locate the PDF and download it.
If we don't have it:
Under How to get it, tap Get me this article and sign in with your NetID.
You'll be directed to your My ILLiad account and the form will most likely be auto-filled for you with the article information. Tap the blue Submit button at the bottom of the form. In some cases, you won't even have to deal with the ILLiad form!
Browser Extension: LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad provides easy access to our full text articles with your NetID when you are browsing publisher sites or using free databases like PubMed.
If we have access to the full text (as seen in PubMed):
Tap the Download PDF button and sign in with your NetID to obtain the full text of the article.
If we don't have it (as seen in PubMed):
Tap the Access Options button.
Under How to get it, tap Get me this article and sign in with your NetID.
You'll be directed to your My ILLiad account and the form will most likely be auto-filled for you with the article information. Tap the blue Submit button at the bottom of the form. In some cases, you won't even have to deal with the ILLiad form!
LibKey Nomad on publisher sites:
The button will look like one of the examples below:
- LibKey NomadDownload LibKey Nomad for Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Edge, Brave, or Vivaldi.
If you've opted into Public Services, cleared your cache, and restarted Chrome, and still can't access the Chrome Store, try logging into a different profile in your Chrome browser, such as a personal Google account, or use a different browser.
Following are instructions for adding the LibKey Nomad extension to Chrome. The process is similar in other browsers.
Choose the Chrome browser.
Tap the green Add to Chrome button on the LibKey Nomad extension page.
Tap the Add extension button to confirm.
Search for and select University of Connecticut.
Tap the puzzle button in your browser bar, then tap the pushpin icon next to LibKey Nomad to pin the extension in place.
- LibKey NomadDownload LibKey Nomad for Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Edge, Brave, or Vivaldi.
Following are instructions for adding the LibKey Nomad extension to Chrome. The process is similar in other browsers.
Browser Extension: Open Access Helper
Open Access Helper provides easy access to legal open access versions of articles. When browsing online, you'll see the Open Access Helper icon on the right-hand side of your browser page.
A green badge indicates an open access copy is available on the current page. Tap it to open the PDF.
An orange icon indicates an open access copy is available elsewhere online. Tap it to go there.
- Open Access HelperDownload Open Access Helper for Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or iOS.
Following are instructions for adding the Open Access Helper extension to Chrome. The process is similar in other browsers.
Choose the Chrome browser.
Tap the green Add to Chrome button on the Open Access Helper extension page.
Tap the Add extension button to confirm.
Tap the puzzle button in your browser bar, then tap the pushpin icon next to Open Access Helper to pin the extension in place.
- Open Access HelperDownload Open Access Helper for Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or iOS.
Following are instructions for adding the Open Access Helper extension to Chrome. The process is similar in other browsers.
Google Scholar
- Google ScholarScholarly articles, books, theses on a variety of topics through Google interface.
Using the UConn Full Text Links
If you come to Google Scholar via the Library Search box, or add UConn Full Text links to Google Scholar, you'll have easy access to articles with your NetID.
If we have access to the source in full text online through UConn:
A UConn Full Text link appears to the right of the reference; tap the link once and follow the instructions to download the article.
If we don't have it:
No UConn Full Text link appears on the right. In that case, first tap the double chevron in the options below the reference:
Then tap UConn Full Text to navigate to our interlibrary loan form. In most cases, with a few clicks, the form will auto-populate to help you submit your request:
Beyond UCONN Full Text
Google Scholar is also especially good for locating open access versions of publications posted in open access collections or faculty members’ institutional repositories. Sometimes you'll find articles posted on sites like ResearchGate, too. Bear in mind that not every link on Google Scholar takes you to an authentic or legal version of a publication! Here are a couple examples of reliable places to obtain free articles:
This is an article available via CORE, a global open access repository:
This is an article in a university's institutional repository:
- Google ScholarScholarly articles, books, theses on a variety of topics through Google interface.
To add the UConn Full Text link to Google Scholar, login to your Google account. Tap the hamburger (three line) menu in the upper left-hand corner of the page, then choose Settings at the bottom of the list of options.
In Settings, tap Library Links, one of the navigation options on the left. Search for UConn, then check the box next to UConn - UConn Full Text.
Be sure to tap the blue Save button to save this setting.
- Google ScholarScholarly articles, books, theses on a variety of topics through Google interface.
PubMed
- PubMedScholarly journal articles about health and medicine, nursing, audiology, and biology.
Using the UConn Full Text Links
If you come to PubMed from the UConn Library website, or add UConn Full Text links to PubMed when logged into PubMed, you'll see our UCONN Full Text button, providing easy access to our full text articles with your NetID.
A UConn Full Text button appears to the right of the reference; tap the button once and follow the instructions to download or request the article.
First, set up an account in PubMed. The link below offers you several options, including using your UConn email, your ORCiD, or your Google account.
- Set Up an Account to Login to NCBI ResourcesYou can associate your new account with your UConn email, your ORCiD, or your Google account, among other options.
This setting is in your Dashboard. If you aren't automatically routed to your dashboard, tap your login name in the upper right corner of the page.
Choose Dashboard in the drop-down menu.
On your PubMed Dashboard, choose NCBI Site Preferences.
Under PubMed Preferences, choose Outside Tool.
Find UConn under U in the alphabet bar.
Check the box next to UConn Full Text.
- PubMedScholarly journal articles about health and medicine, nursing, audiology, and biology.
RefWorks
Tapping the UConn Full Text link in the details column will check the UConn library's access to an article.
If we have access to the full text:
Under View Online, tap one of the links. It shouldn't matter which one, as long as it says it contains the date when your article was published.
In the link that opens, locate the PDF and download it.
If we don't have it:
Under How to get it, tap Get me this article and sign in with your NetID.
You'll be directed to your My ILLiad account and the form will most likely be auto-filled for you with the article information. Tap the blue Submit button at the bottom of the form. In some cases, you won't even have to deal with the ILLiad form!
Zotero
The Locate menu is accessible from the green arrow at the top of the details pane. There are three options:
Library Lookup:
If you configured the link resolver (see the Getting Started with Zotero section of this guide), Library Lookup will help you find and access the reference in full text, or assist you in placing an interlibrary loan request for the item.
CrossRef Lookup
If your reference includes a Digital Object Identifier (DOI), this option will find the source online. This will not necessarily find you a free copy of the full text, however, so Library Lookup is a better option.
Google Scholar Search
This performs a Google Scholar search for the full title of the reference and the first author's first and last names. If there's no match, try removing some of the information from the Google Scholar search box and perform the search again. Like CrossRef Lookup, this may not take you to a free full text version of the item.
Request an Article Manually
- Interlibrary ServicesLearn more about the library's interlibrary loan services. Create or access your ILLiad account.
If you already have a reference for an article we don't have, you can request it directly through your My ILLiad account.
Tap the blue Interlibrary Services button on the library website.
Tap the blue My ILLiad button and sign in with your NetID.
In the dark blue horizontal menu bar, chose Place Request, then Article/Paper.
\
If you have the DOI or Digital Object Identifier for the article, you can use the Lookup DOI button to autofill the request form. Otherwise, fill in the required fields and tap the blue Submit button at the bottom of the form.
