Welcome to the Physics Subject Guide!
This guide provides an introduction to finding articles, books, and other resources for Physics at the University of Connecticut.
Above: Hope Whitlock '18 conducting a physics experiment in 2016 (UConn Photo)
- A-Z Database LocatorComplete list of UConn database subscriptions
Most Used Physics Databases
- Astrophysical Data SystemThe SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 13.3 million records covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv e-prints.
- Engineering VillageCross search of two engineering databases: Inspec & Compendex. Indexes scholarly articles in physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology.
- Springer Nature Link
Includes full-text access to a select number of journal titles in scientific, technical, and medical fields published by Springer.
- KnovelOver 800 full-text engineering and scientific reference works, handbooks, encyclopedias, reference books, and standards in engineering and chemistry.
- Arxiv.orgFull text e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
- Project EuclidResearch in math, physics, and statistics.
- Physical Review Online ArchiveFull text articles published by the American Physical Society.
- ScitationArticles from scholarly physical science journals, published by the American Institute of Physics, its member societies, and other affiliated organizations.
- Browzine Physical SciencesAccess many physics and astronomy journals. Excellent user interface.
- Other Physics DatabasesOther Physics databases available at UConn
Subject Guide
Getting Full Text Articles and Chapters
In a database, look for
UConn Full Text will help you
1. Get the full text online if UConn subscribes to it
2. Request what we do not own
3. Request scans of articles and chapters we own in print through Interlibrary Services
