LibGuides: Philosophy Subject Guide: Research Databases

Resources for Researching Philosophy

These databases are the primary databases for Philosophical research, but much contemporary Philosophy is in non-traditional subjects and is not necessarily reported in the primary datatabases. The secondary resources must also be used to determine if something has received study.

Oxford Bibliographies Online - Philosophy
Provides an annotated bibliography covering books in the fields of philosophy and logic.
Philosopher's Index
Includes article abstracts for journal articles, books, book chapters in philosophy.
PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online
Comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

These databases often contain material that anticipates or supplements the content accessible through the Philosophy resources.

Annee philologique, L'
Offers access to the scholarship studying Classical Greek and Roman civilizations, including their philosophies and philosophers. 1928-current.
Agricola
Indexes articles in agriculture, including many concerning environmental ethics. 1970-current. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
Business Source Complete
A comprehensive business database, with many articles discussing business ethics. Formerly Business Source Premier. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
Cambridge Core
Full-text of over 200 Cambridge Companions including many devoted to Philosophy, Religion, and Culture. Includes over 2,200 essays on these topics. Varies.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Scholarly journal articles about nursing and allied health, many discussing nursing and medical ethics. 1981-current. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
Embase
Comprehensive index of biomedical research from 1966 to the present, with much material on bioethics and medical ethics.
GreenFILE
Articles on environmental issues, many concerning environmental ethics. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
HeinOnline
Full-text of law reviews, federal documents, and Supreme Court materials, many dealing with legal ethics. Much material is pre-1980 and some dates back to the 1800s. See details for coverage. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
JSTOR
Essential scholarly journals in many academic fields, including philosophy. Some back to early 1900s; most recent 2-5 years not available. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
LegalTrac
Gale Cengage database that indexes more than 1200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, and specialty publications, many studying legal ethics.
MathSciNet (EBSCO)
Primary database for mathematical researches, including much material on mathematical logic and foundations. 1940-present.
Medline (EBSCO)
Scholarly journal articles about health and medicine, including medical ethics.. Search Medline with ERIC, PsycINFO, and Academic Search Premier through EBSCO. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
Project MUSE
Full-text of over 200 journals and 1829 ebooks, many studying philosophy and ethics. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
Zoological Record
Scholarly articles on zoology, including discussions of ethics and animal rights.. Also includes indexing for books, reports, meetings and journals. 1864 current. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.

The sites listed below reproduce the images of the historical texts as they appeared in English.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection (EBSCO)
Includes magazines and journals articles from 1691 to1877 covering topics such as Black and African American history and culture, agriculture, children's literature, education, medicine, religion, science and technology, the trades, and women's literature.
American Periodicals
Digitized images of over 1,000 American magazines and journals published between 1741-1940. Titles include a number of philosophical as well as scientific and general interest periodicals. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans
Includes eBooks, pamphlets and other primary source materials about life in 17th- and 18th-century America, such as agriculture, foreign affairs, literature, music, philosophy, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, and witchcraft.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker
Includes ebooks, pamphlets and other primary source materials covering the political, social, cultural and geographic growth of the United States between 1801-1819 covering abolitionism, arts and literature, economic, religious, and scientific thought.
British Periodicals
Full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth.
Through June 30, 2023, unlimited users have access to the British Periodical Collection III & IV. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Early English Books Online
Full text access to nearly every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere between 1475-1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Full-text of over 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. Covers history, philosophy, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. 1701-1800. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Search the full text of over 10 million volumes digitized primarily from research libraries covering all academic disciplines. View scanned pages of public domain and open access titles, or snippets from copyrighted material.
Loeb Classical Library
Online access to the Loeb Library series of Greek and Latin texts, along with their English translations covering drama, poetry, literature, history, biography, travel, and philosophy.
Theologische Realenzyklopädie Online
More than 25,000 original scholarly articles, published 1976-2004, on theological subjects relevant to researches in history, philosophy, religion, and medieval studies,

Philosophy Subject Guide — Research Databases

Resources for Researching Philosophy