This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
| Details and Exceptions
In 2024, the UConn Library used salary savings to purchase permanent online access to millions of scholarly journal articles, hundreds of ebooks and streaming videos, and millions of pages of primary sources in all subjects.
We have continued our existing evidence-based and demand-driven collection development programs with Elsevier, ProQuest, JSTOR, and Oxford in addition to the two new programs we started in January 2024 with Cambridge and Wiley.
Everything listed in this guide (unless otherwise noted) was purchased in perpetuity with no ongoing fees. In most cases, preservation and access are assured through Portico. Everything is for unlimited concurrent users and is DRM free. Everything is available to all UConn, including Health and Law.
This guide is intended for library staff only. You are welcome to copy titles and descriptions and customize as desired to share directly with your faculty and students.
Collections selected from our Access to Build program for perpetual access. All content is available and indexed in Primo for discovery.
In previous years, we subscribed to a program with Proquest/Clarivate, Access to Build, that provided us extensive access to primary resource databases. We have switch to a new program, called Gale Accelerate. This program is similar to our previous one in that we are given access to several databases offered by Gale with the ability to choose those with higher usage for perpetual access.
These resources are available to June 30, 2025. Title level and select collection-level access have been added in Primo and to Databases A-Z as appropriate. The following are part of the Gale Accelerate program and are listed on the Databases A-Z list:
Access to articles, manuscripts, and books covering the history of Latin America and the Caribbean from the 16th to the 20th century. Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Access to articles, manuscripts, images, and videos covering events, people, and trends from the mid-1800s to 20th century. Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Access to manuscripts from British authors that include poems, plays, novels, and diaries. Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Access to the Daily Mail newspaper from 1896 to 2016. Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Access to articles, manuscripts, monographs, and photographs covering the history of Native peoples from the 17th to 20th century. Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Access to the Mirror, a British newspaper, from 1903 to 2000. Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Access to the issues from the National Geographic Magazine from 1888 to 2020. Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Access to manuscripts, maps, articles, and photographs covering history, literature, and culture in the 19th century. Library has access to several collections: British Theatre, Music, and Literature, High & Low; Women: Transnational Networks; and Children's Literature and Childhood. Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Access to articles from several magazines published during the 19th century covering life in the UK. Our access includes Part 1 (lifestyle and women's magazines) and Part 2 (magazines published across the British Empire covering economic and related topics of British expansionism). Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Access to the Times Educational Supplement newspaper, focused on topics and issues related to education for teachers, from 1910 to 2000. Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Access to primary source materials including pamphlets, correspondence, posters, and articles covering women's lives from 1914-1918. Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Access to articles, manuscripts, books, and photographs covering women's lives from the 19th to 20th centuries. Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
Through June 30, 2025, unlimited users have access to this material. Continued access beyond that date is not guaranteed and is subject to a purchase decision by the UConn Library.
The following are part of the Gale Accelerate program and are ONLY available through Primo:
University Press Ebook Collections
The following University Press Ebook collections can be found on the De Gruyter Platform. Note, the platform does not limit to licensed content. Titles will be added to Primo as they become available. The 2024 content adds to the previously purchased backlist collections.
Some publishers hold back certain titles and do not include them in their eBook package purchases.
Research Collections
Titles have been added to Primo.
Oxford Bibliographies
Access is available from both Primo and Databases A-Z.
Provides an annotated bibliography covering works related to biblical studies.
Through evidence-based acquisition (EBA) and demand-driven acquisition (DDA) collection development models with JSTOR, Oxford University Press, Elsevier, Cambridge, and ProQuest, we have established access to tens of thousands of scholarly ebooks. These EBA and DDA models give us the option to purchase in perpetuity titles of our choice or titles that have seen significant usage, using our prepaid access fees. Access provided in Primo.
Access provided through Primo and Databases A-Z (ScienceDirect) platform.
We continued our support to MIT's Direct to Open program in which libraries contribute to a fund that is used to make MIT's newest publications open access. As part of our participation, we are granted access to their full backlist of ebook titles. Access is provided through Primo.
Elsevier
Brill
Taylor & Francis
All Docuseek2 content is available through Primo.
Docuseek2 Complete Collection (4th edition)
Streams of independently produced social-issue and environmental films from such producers as Bull Frog Pictures, Icarus Films, Terra Nova Films, and First Run Features.
Added films distributed by GOOD DOCS for the next three years. Access is not guaranteed after June 30, 2027. They are integrated into the Docuseek2 platform and you should be able to filter to bring up a list of currently available GOOD DOCS films.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
| Details and Exceptions