Core Article Databases for Research in Kinesiology
- PubMedScholarly journal articles about health and medicine, nursing, audiology, and biology.
- SPORTDiscus
Scholarly journal articles about sport, fitness, and physical education topics including both practical and research literature.
- ScopusScholarly journal articles and conference papers on any topic in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Includes cited references and h-index information.
- EmbaseComprehensive index of biomedical research from 1966 to the present.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles about nursing and allied health including nursing interventions, education, theory, and history as well as physical and occupational therapy.
- PEDro: The Physiotherapy Evidence DatabaseAccess to over 50,000 randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines relevant to physical therapy.
Other Databases to Consider
- Cochrane LibraryCollection of various evidence based medicine databases providing information on treatments and medical interventions to support effective decision making in practice.
- ERIC (EBSCO)
Indexes scholarly journals and magazines in all areas of education, from early intervention (birth to age three), preschool, K-12 (public and private), and higher education. Includes bilingual, special, gifted, and computer education.
- PsycInfo (APA PsycInfo)
Scholarly articles in psychology, plus medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, criminology, social science, business, & organizational behavior.
- REHABDATACitations (with links to abstracts) to disability and rehabilitation journals, only for research conducted outside the United States.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
Scholarly journal articles about sociology and other social and behavioral sciences. Includes culture & social structure; economic development; evaluation research; family & social welfare; management and complex organizations; policy planning.
See All Library Databases
- A-Z Database ListSee all of the library's research databases in alphabetical order. You can use the drop-downs to narrow the list by subject or use the search box to locate a specific database.
Google Scholar
- Google ScholarScholarly articles, books, theses on a variety of topics through Google interface.
Google Scholar is not a substitute for using a library database, but is worthwhile as a supplement to the library's tools.
It can be excellent for:
- Searching across many disciplines at once
- Determining which disciplines are interested in your topic
- Identifying relevant keywords
- Puzzling out poor or incomplete citations
- Locating grey literature (like conference proceedings or dissertations)
- Finding open source versions of articles
- Cited reference searching
Challenges to consider:
- There's no controlled vocabulary or standardized terminology
- It doesn't support complex searching and limiting the way library databases do
- Sources aren't vetted, so critical thinking and skepticism is required when browsing results
- Search results are not consistent, even if you use incognito mode
- Publisher links generally ask you to pay for access (don't do that! see the next tab in this box for details)
Find a Specific Journal or Article
- Journal SearchSearch the title of a journal, magazine, newspaper, or other periodical to see what years are accessible online in full text or in print.
- Article Citation SearchFind an article using some or all of its citation.
