Encyclopedias and Handbooks
When researching your topic for the first time, it is always a good idea to do some preliminary research. By reading about a broad topic, you can identify an aspect of that topic that you may want to explore further. On this page you will find several reference sources that will get you started on your research. This is just a sampling of what we have in electronic format. You can search WorldCat or the General Search box at the library website to look for more books both print and online. You can also consult the eReference Books libguide for additional sources.
eBooks
Encyclopedia of AgingISBN: 9780028654720Publication Date: 2002-07-03This four-volume academic set covers the subject of aging from a social, cultural, sociological, biological, medical, anthropological, religious/philosophical, and economic point of view. Special attention has been paid to cross-national differences in policies and approaches related to aging. For example, the inclusion of an article on euthanasia, listing the various approaches to this practice in different countries.
Encyclopedia of Children, Adolescents, and the Media by ISBN: 1412905303Publication Date: 2006-12-14
Encyclopedia of Human Development by ISBN: 1412904757Publication Date: 2005-10-14Encyclopedia covers topics as diverse as adolescence, cognitive development, education, family, gender differences, identity, longitudinal research, personality development, prenatal development, temperament, and more
Encyclopedia of the Life Course and Human DevelopmentISBN: 9780028661629Publication Date: 2008-11-10Examines three key life stages from a sociological perspective, exploring how enduring experiences, as well as transitions and events such as childcare, education, stress, marriage, career, addiction, friendship, parenthood, disease, spirituality, and retirement influence the individual's life course. The life stages examined are: Childhood and Adolescence; Adulthood; and Later Life.
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences by ISBN: 9780123808806Publication Date: 2010-11-26Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences, Seventh Edition, provides extensive reviews and critical evaluations of research on the social aspects of aging. It can serve as a basic reference tool for scholars, professionals, and others who are not presently engaged in research and practice directly focused on aging and the aged.
Handbook of Death and Dying by ISBN: 9780761925149Publication Date: 2003-10-01The Handbook of Death and Dying takes stock of the vast literature in the field of thanatology, arranging and synthesizing what has been an unwieldy body of knowledge into a concise, yet comprehensive reference work.
Handbook of Marriage and the Family by ISBN: 9780306457548Publication Date: 1999-01-31In a thorough revision of the first edition of this classic text and reference, published by Plenum in 1987, the editors have assembled a distinguished roster of contributors to address such topics as past, present, and future perspectives on family diversity; theory and methods of the family; changing family patterns and roles; the family and other institutions; and family dynamics and processes.
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and FamilyISBN: 0028656725Publication Date: 2002-11-27Contains over three hundred alphabetically arranged articles that provide information about issues related to marriage and family, focusing on the diversity of marriage and family lifestyles in fifty countries representative of the regions of the world.
Routledge Companion to Motherhood by ISBN: 9781032085593Publication Date: 2020The scope of the Encyclopedia of Motherhood is focused on providing a comprehensive resource to understanding the complexities of motherhood for academic and public libraries, written by scholars and institutional experts in the social and behavioral sciences.
Print Sources
Handbook of Marriage and the Family by ISBN: 9781461439868Publication Date: 2012-09-14Describes, analyzes, synthesizes, and critiques the current research and theory about family relationships, family structural variations, and the role of families in society.
