Scholarly Articles
Features of scholarly articles:
- Written for experts, not a general audience
- Published in academic journals
- Judged by fellow experts in the field through a process called “peer-review”
A peer-reviewed article has been reviewed by experts in the field before publication, to ensure that it meets the standards of the field.
Be aware: an item published in an academic journal will not always be peer-reviewed. Some Academic journals also publish items such as editorials or a note from the editor.
Human Development & Family Sciences Databases
- Academic Search Premier
This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines covering a wide variety of disciplines with the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LBGTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Parts I-IIIOver 4 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world since 1940. Features content from 35 countries, with over 15 languages represented.
- CQ ResearcherIn-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
- ERIC (EBSCO)
Indexes scholarly journals and magazines in all areas of education, from early intervention (birth to age three), preschool, K-12 (public and private), and higher education. Includes bilingual, special, gifted, and computer education.
- Issues & ControversiesSummarizes current issues and controversies in political, economic, social and scientific topics.
- LGBTQ+ Source
Covers gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues including civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, psychology, and religion.
- Medline (EBSCO)
Scholarly journal articles about health and medicine, nursing, audiology, and biology.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.
- PsycArticles
Academic, research and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines.
- PsycInfo (APA PsycInfo)
Scholarly articles in psychology, plus medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, criminology, social science, business, & organizational behavior.
- ScopusScholarly journal articles and conference papers on any topic in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Includes cited references and h-index information.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
Scholarly journal articles about sociology and other social and behavioral sciences. Includes culture & social structure; economic development; evaluation research; family & social welfare; management and complex organizations; policy planning.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
Scholarly journal articles about sociology and other social and behavioral sciences. Includes culture & social structure; economic development; evaluation research; family & social welfare; management and complex organizations; policy planning.
- Women's Studies International
Includes abstracts for articles, newsletters, books, proceedings, and dissertations covering current topics in feminist research.
eJournals
- Find by CitationLocate the full-text article by entering information (article title, journal title, volume, issue #) into the fields.
- eJournal LocatorFind out whether a journal title is available electronically. If you are presented with a list of databases, let the issue/publication date you need and UConn's subscription coverage connect you to the right database.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)"DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals."
Browse Journals for your Topic
Here is a list of selected HDFS ejournals we own. For more journals, search by title using the following link: E-Journal Locator
- American Journal of Family Therapy
- Child & Family Behavior Therapy
- Child Abuse & Neglect
- Child Development
- Children & Society
- Early Childhood Research Quarterly
- Families in Society
- Family Relations
- History of the Family
- Human Relations
- Journal of Adolescence
- Journal of Comparative Family Studies
- Journal of Early Adolescence
- Journal of Family Therapy
- Journal of Marital and Family Therapy
- Journal of Marriage and the Family
Using Google Scholar
Research Tip: If you are new to research and are having a hard time to find articles on your topic, try using Google Scholar to try out your keywords. Databases used controlled vocabulary which means that they are very rigid about what terms they used to classify the articles in this system. Google Scholars is more forgiving and expand your searches to include variations of a word, which allow for more results to appear. You can then identify the most successful keywords and use them in our subject specific databases
Hint: Setup your UConn settings with Google Scholar first to find fulltext articles within the UConn network.
Google Scholar
- Configure Google ScholarAccess UConn materials from Google Scholar. Check off UConn-UConn Full Text and Save
Getting Full Text Articles and Chapters
In a database, look for
UConn Full Text will help you
1. Get the full text online if UConn subscribes to it
2. Request what we do not own
3. Request scans of articles and chapters we own in print through Interlibrary Services
