LibGuides: First-Year Writing Instructor's Guide: Tutorials

This page contains a selection of tutorials to orient students to library services and resources.

Tutorials

Introduction to Library Services for UConn Students
A brief introduction to key services available from the UConn Library; information about NetID, Ask a Librarian, databases, and more.
Understanding Plagiarism
Brief tutorial on plagiarism with additional information from Research Now
Getting the Article
Retrieving the full text of articles in PDF/html or using catalog links to order a copy from interlibrary services.
Exploring Article Databases
A brief explanation of databases and how to find the databases available from the UConn Library.
Simple Database Search
A brief tutorial on conducting a search in a general database.
Narrowing Your Search
Searching a database using keywords or subjects and limiting results to scholarly articles and publication date.
Advanced General Search
A guide to using an advanced search in the UConn Library's main "Articles + Library Catalog" search box.
Getting the Book
Learn how to search for materials (books, ebooks, dvds) held by the UConn Library.

Research Now - Information Literacy Modules

Research Now! is a collection of guides to help students develop research skills - from forming a research question, to understanding how information is created and used, to finding and evaluating resources critically and responsibly.

The Instructor's Companion to Research Now! provides some strategies for implementing these guides into instruction.

Research Now!
Research Now! provides more in-depth instruction for developing research skills – from developing a research question, to understanding how information is created and used, to finding and evaluating resources critically and responsibly.
Instructor's Companion to Research Now!
Strategies for implementing the UConn Library's online modules.