Cited Reference Searching is just a fancy way of saying "searching the bibliographies or references of an article or book." Many databases offer access to the citations of publications which were referenced within the publication, though not all do. Below is a partial list of such databases, but an author can go to any favorite or preferred database to check if direct access to this list is possible. Some databases will actually compile a list of who has cited a particular author, like Scopus will do when an author search is done.
Databases with Citation Reference Searching
Listed below are databases that include a cited reference feature, also note that some references will be hyperlinked to indicate Times Cited in this database.
- Academic Search Premier
Includes articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines covering a wide variety of disciplines with the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- America: History and Life
Scholarly articles about the history of the United States and Canada.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Scholarly journal articles about nursing and allied health including nursing interventions, education, theory, and history as well as physical and occupational therapy.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
Articles in communication, mass media, linguistics, and film studies.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Provides selective indexing of world history articles from thousands of journals and books in a wide variety of languages excluding the United States and Canada from 1450 to the present.
- PsycInfo (APA PsycInfo)
Scholarly articles in psychology, plus medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, criminology, social science, business, & organizational behavior.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
Scholarly journal articles about sociology and other social and behavioral sciences. Includes culture & social structure; economic development; evaluation research; family & social welfare; management and complex organizations; policy planning.
- ScopusScholarly journal articles and conference papers on any topic in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Includes cited references and h-index information.
- BIOSIS Citation Index
Article abstracts and conference documents from the world's life sciences literature, covering more than 5,200 journals.
- Zoological RecordScholarly articles, books, and reports from 1864 to present on zoology, ecology, taxonomy and biology of living and fossil animals.
Author Cited Reference Searching in Scopus
Just as we can search for an article's mention in references in Scopus, we can also search for an author's mention in references.
- First, identify by author's Scopus ID number by doing an author search in Scopus for the designated author.
- Copy the Scopus author ID for that author
- On the regular document search page copy the author id into the search blank
- Select References in the drop down menu to the right of the search blank.
- The result will be the number of publications within Scopus which have cited that specific author.
For authors publishing in journals that are included in Scopus, this is a marvelous tool for tracking author citation metrics.
