Database search links
Journal research databases for LCA
Ebsco GreenFile
Ebsco GreenFile database covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Scholarly, government and general-interest titles, including content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.
Search tip: start with this search:
"life cycle analysis" or "lca" or "life cycle assessment" or "life cycle costing"
and add additional search term(s) in the search box at the top of the page to focus search results on your topic, e.g.:
BIOSIS
An expansive index to the world's life sciences literature, covering more than 5,200 journals from 100 countries, along with millions of records and conference documents. 1969-present. Search tip: Try substituting your product for tire after pasting this into the BIOSIS search box:
("life cycle assessment" OR "life cycle inventory" OR "life cycle impact assessment" OR "environmental impact analysis") AND tire*
If you can't find articles in those databases...
An expanTry searching Academic Search Premier, a database indexing both peer-reviewed journals as well as popular magazine and trade journals, for articles on your product. Try using more general terms instead of Life Cycle Assessment, like sustainable, sustainability, environmental impact, etc.
Search tips for journal research databases:
The UConn Library licenses dozens of research databases and thousands of academic journals - together totaling millions of dollars in annual investment - to support research throughout the University. Given the interdisciplinary nature of topics researched by journalists, more than one of the library's research databases - arranged in the library's Research Database Locator by title or subject - may have relevant content. As with other multidisciplinary fields, looking in multiple research databases can yield the best results.
Search tips:
- Experiment! Try different combinations of keywords - narrow to broad
- Use boolean logic connectors or and not within advanced search interfaces in journal research database. Using Or between synonyms or related concepts builds flexibility into the search, retrieving more results; And limits search results to only those where the concepts overlap
- Use the truncation symbol (usually an asterisk *) to find variations of root words; teen* in the example above searches for teenage, teen, teenager, etc.
- Searching for phrases in quotes forces the search to only retrieve articles where that exact string of characters appears.
