Music Subject Guide — Web Sources

A database of popular and classical music licensed for performance by the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers.

Find songs by title, performing artist, songwriter/composer, and publisher.

Indexes of more than 50,000 sheet music titles and 6,000 songbooks and hymnbooks; site hosted by Middle Tennessee State University.

Complete texts of songs and choral works by selected composers; Indexed by composer, poet, first line, title, year or composition and collection.

This website allows searching of folk songs, jazz, and blues. Also supplies complete song texts.

This database provides access to about 50,000 songs in more than 1,500 published song anthologies owned by the Music Library at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.

Database of hard-to-find U.S. opera telecasts. Documents more than a half-century of opera, operetta, and musical comedy telecasts produced in the United States.

MUSICA is currently a choral documentary search tool as well as a pedagogic tool for conductors, musicologists, school of music, musical federations, music stores, etc.

The CANTUS database assembles indices of the Latin ecclesiastical chants found in early manuscript and printed sources for the liturgical Office.

Text and incipit Indexes for selected chat sources, compiled by David Hiley.

Chant-related links compiled by Peter Jeffrey and hosted by Princeton University.

The Hill Museum & Manuscript Library produces preservation microfilms of manuscript collections across Europe, Ethiopia, the Middle East, and South India.

Excellent Index of links to medieval music materials.

This source offers various forms of Gregorian Chant, the influence of chant on music up through the 21st century, and links to information and additional websites on Gregorian Chant.

Includes manuscripts and archives, many with online finding aids. Also includes the Howard Mayer Brown Papers and Renaissance manuscripts.

This database contains information about and citations for worship books printed before 1601.

A database for texts on Music Theory and Aesthetics.

The Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum is a database seeking to represent the entire corpus of Latin music theory works written during the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.

A medieval music database, integrating numerous electronic sources.