LibGuides: Music Subject Guide: Music Sources

Music Specific Databases

Why is it important to search in databases as well as the UConn library general search?

Subject-specific databases can give you more targeted results relevant to your search topic.
Many databases have more nuanced search options.
Some databases don't have their resources discoverable in the UConn database.

Most databases provide good full-text coverage allowing you to link directly to the full article or book within the database platform.

Oxford Music Online
Comprehensive encyclopedia of Western art music (classical music), with general coverage of jazz, non-Western, and folk music. Access for 10 users at a time.
Music Index
Includes articles covering classical, jazz, popular, folk, and world music, including musicology, ethnomusicology, theory, music education, and the music industry
Naxos Music Library
Streamed recordings of primarily classical music. Also includes world/folk music, Chinese orchestral, folk, and traditional music.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Includes citations and abstracts for journal articles, essays, Festschriften, dissertations, books, and scholarly reviews on music and related disciplines.
Recent Researches in Music Online
Full text access to Recent Research in Music series from 2018 to the present

RISM Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600 (1600-1800)
RISM comprehensively documents musical scores of manuscripts or printed music - as well as on music theory and libretti - from more than 22 500 composers that are stored in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections in 32 countries.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
Access to comprehensive online encyclopedia devoted to music research of all the world's peoples.
Music Online: Opera in Video
Provides access to streaming videos of opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.

RIdIM (Répertoire International d‘Iconographie Musicale)
The RIdIM Database, developed by Association RIdIM, is designed to facilitate discovery of music, dance, theatre and opera iconography images by registered researchers, and the description of such images by registered cataloguers. The database is web-based and platform independent, and access is free of charge to scholars affiliated with academic institutions, galleries, museums, etc., as well as independent researchers.