How Do I Find the Best Results in Research Databases?
You will find the best results when searching research databases by using the Boolean operators : AND, OR, and NOT to either broaden or narrow your search results. George Boole wants you to use Boolean operators to get the best search results in academic research databases!
Above: comic illustration of George Boole (1815-1864), whom Boolean operators are named for. Image from irishphilosphy.com
- A-Z Database ListSee all of the library's research databases in alphabetical order. You can use the drop-downs to narrow the list by subject or use the search box to locate a specific database.
Computer Science Databases
- ACM Digital LibraryProvides access to journals, transactions, proceedings, and newsletters published by the Association of Computing Machinery.
- ArXiv Computing Research RepositoryComputing Research Repository (CoRR) of arXiv, hosted by Cornell
- Browzine Computer Science & EngineeringUse Browzine to access ACM journals and more
- Engineering VillageCross search of two engineering databases: Inspec & Compendex. Indexes scholarly articles in physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology.
- EngrXIV: Open Archive of EngineeringA great source for open papers and preprints in the fields of engineering.
- IEEE XploreFull-text journals, conference proceedings, and IEEE Standards in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.
- ScienceDirectScholarly journals and books. You may limit your search to specific computer science topics.
- ScopusArticles in science and technology. Excellent analytics and h-index information.
- SpringerLinkFull-text access to over 500 peer-reviewed journal titles in scientific, technical, and medical fields published by Springer.
Boolean Logic
Do you want to know more about Boolean logic? Then watch this short film below from RTE (Raidió Teilifís Éireann). George Boole taught at University College Cork, Ireland when he made his discoveries of algebraic logic.
Boolean Reasoning by ISBN: 9780486164595Publication Date: 2012-02-10A systematic treatment of Boolean reasoning, this concise, newly revised edition combines the works of early logicians with recent investigations, including previously unpublished research results. For the benefit of readers without formal training in mathematics, the text starts with an overview of elementary mathematical concepts and outlines the theory of Boolean algebras, based on Huntington's postulate. It defines operators for elimination, division, and expansion, providing a coherent and systematic basis for subsequent discussions of syllogistic reasoning, the solution of Boolean equations, and functional deduction. Examples and end-of-chapter problems appear throughout the book, many taken from the design for switching systems. Two concluding chapters deal with applications; one applies Boolean reasoning to diagnostic problems, and the other discusses the design of multiple-output logic-circuits.
