This wide-ranging, jargon-free dictionary contains over 2,300 entries on all aspects of statistics, including terms used in computing, mathematics, and probability. It also includes biographical information on over 200 key figures in the field and coverage of statistical journals andsocieties. While embracing the whole multi-disciplinary spectrum of this complex subject, information is presented in a clear and practical manner. This edition features recommended web links for many entries, accessible via the Dictionary of Statistics website, which provide valuable extrainformation. This edition features expanded coverage of applied statistics. Entries are generously illustrated with 130 useful figures and diagrams, and include worked examples where applicable. Appendices include a historical calendar of important statistical events, lists of statistical and mathematicalnotation, and statistical tables. It is an invaluable dictionary for statistics students and professionals from a wide range of disciplines, including economics, politics, market research, medicine, psychology, pharmaceuticals, and mathematics, and provides a clear introduction to the subject forthe general reader.
APA Dictionary of Statistics and Research Methods by Sheldon Zedeck (Editor)
The Concise Encyclopedia of Statistics presents the essential information about statistical tests, concepts, and analytical methods in language that is accessible to practitioners and students of the vast community using statistics in medicine, engineering, physical science, life science, social science, and business/economics. The reference is alphabetically arranged to provide quick access to the fundamental tools of statistical methodology and biographies of famous statisticians. The more than 500 entries include definitions, history, mathematical details, limitations, examples, references, and further readings. All entries include cross-references as well as the key citations. The back matter includes a timeline of statistical inventions. This reference will be an enduring resource for locating convenient overviews about this essential field of study.
This dynamic reference work provides solutions to vital algorithmic problems for scholars, researchers, practitioners, teachers and students in fields such as computer science, mathematics, statistics, biology, economics, financial software, and medical informatics... These entries are designed to ensure algorithms are presented from growing areas of research such as bioinformatics, combinatorial group testing, differential privacy, enumeration algorithms, game theory, massive data algorithms, modern learning theory, social networks, and VLSI CAD algorithms.
EACM is a comprehensive reference work covering the vast field of applied and computational mathematics. Applied mathematics itself accounts for at least 60 per cent of mathematics, and the emphasis on computation reflects the current and constantly growing importance of computational methods in all areas of applications. EACM emphasizes the strong links of applied mathematics with major areas of science, such as physics, chemistry, biology, and computer science, as well as specific fields like atmospheric ocean science. In addition, the mathematical input to modern engineering and technology form another core component of EACM.
The Encyclopedia of Finance, Second Edition, comprised of over 1000 individual definitions and chapters, is the most comprehensive and up-to-date resource in the field, integrating the most current terminology, research, theory, and practical applications. Showcasing contributions from an international array of experts, the revised edition of this major reference work is unparalleled in the breadth and depth of its coverage. Part I provides readers with a basic framework for getting up to speed quickly, and has been updated to include over 200 new terms and essays. Part II features 24 new chapters and offers a more in-depth look at the topic through key developments and findings. Part III has also been expanded through the addition of four new appendices. From "asset pricing models" to "risk management," the Encyclopedia of Finance, Second Edition, serves as an essential resource for academics, educators, and students.
This authoritative, expanded and updated second edition of Encyclopedia of Machine Learning and Data Mining provides easy access to core information for those seeking entry into any aspect within the broad field of Machine Learning and Data Mining. A paramount work, its 800 entries - about 150 of them newly updated or added - are filled with valuable literature references, providing the reader with a portal to more detailed information on any given topic. Topics for the Encyclopedia of Machine Learning and Data Mining include Learning and Logic, Data Mining, Applications, Text Mining, Statistical Learning, Reinforcement Learning, Pattern Mining, Graph Mining, Relational Mining, Evolutionary Computation, Information Theory, Behavior Cloning, and many others. Topics were selected by a distinguished international advisory board. Each peer-reviewed, highly-structured entry includes a definition, key words, an illustration, applications, a bibliography, and links to related literature. The entries are expository and tutorial, making this reference a practical resource for students, academics, or professionals who employ machine learning and data mining methods in their projects. Machine learning and data mining techniques have countless applications, including data science applications, and this reference is essential for anyone seeking quick access to vital information on the topic.
The Encyclopedia of Social Network Analysis and Mining (ESNAM) is the first major reference work to integrate fundamental concepts and research directions in the areas of social networks and applications to data mining.
This 5,800-page encyclopedia surveys 100 generations of great thinkers, offering more than 2,000 detailed biographies of scientists, engineers, explorers and inventors who left their mark on the history of science and technology. This six-volume masterwork also includes 380 articles summarizing the time-line of ideas in the leading fields of science, technology, mathematics and philosophy.
The goal of this book is multidimensional: a) to help reviving Statistics education in many parts in the world where it is in crisis. For the first time authors from many developing countries have an opportunity to write together with the most prominent world authorities. The editor has spent several years searching for the most reputable statisticians all over the world. International contributors are either presidents of the local statistical societies, or head of the Statistics department at the main university, or the most distinguished statisticians in their countries. b) to enable any non-statistician to obtain quick and yet comprehensive and highly understandable view on certain statistical term, method or application c) to enable all the researchers, managers and practicioners to refresh their knowledge in Statistics, especially in certain controversial fields. d) to revive interest in statistics among students, since they will see its usefulness and relevance in almost all branches of Science.