LibGuides: OER at UConn: Health

Open Educational Resources (OER) in Health

Nursing
Public Health

This page provides access to textbook repositories along with other selected open resources.

The purpose of these discipline specific pages is to showcase content that might be of interest to faculty who are considering adopting open educational resources for use in their classes. This list of content is by no means exhaustive, and more resources will be added.

Nursing Care at the End of Life: What every clinician should know
Provides in-depth look at death and dying, including the vital role of the nurse in assisting patients and families along the journey towards the end of life. Also emphasizes the importance of effective interpersonal communication between the patient and clinician.
Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care
Emphasis on best practice and quality care based on the latest evidence.
End of Life: Helping with comfort and care
Research based overview of issues often faced by people caring for someone nearing the end of life. Includes suggestions from healthcare providers with expertise in helping individuals and families through this difficult time.
Dying in America: Improving quality and honoring individual preferences near the end of life
Addresses the needs of patients and their families to provide the best care possible for people nearing the end of life.
Safe Ambulatory Care
Strategies for patient safety and risk reduction in four specific areas, diagnostic testing, medication safety, falls, and workplace security and safety. Report was published by the ECRI Institute PSO.
Patient Safey and Quality: An evidence based handbook for nurses
Peer-reviewed discussions and reviews of a wide range of issues regarding patient safety and quality health care.
Anatomy and Physiology
Dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements.
Intrapartum Care: A learning programme for professionals
Developed for doctors and advanced midwives who care for women who deliver in district hospitals in South Africa. Particular attention is given to the care of the mother, the management of labour and monitoring the wellbeing of the fetus.
Open Textbook Library
Browse Subjects (Medicine) or search for titles. Collection of Health and Nursing open textbooks.
The History of Nursing in the British Empire
Written by Sarah A. Southall Tooley in 1906.
Clinical Methods: The history, physical, and laboratory examinations.
The first chapter describes the ten individuals responsible for the development of modern physical diagnosis. Walker, H. K., Hall, W. D., & Hurst, J. W. (1990; Boston: Butterworths)

More Web Resources

NCBI Bookshelf - Nursing
Free online access to books on Nursing.
Open Education Resources in Nursing
Free, open, and online educational and training resources.
Open Resources for Military and Veterans Health
Link to reports related to military and veterans health from the Office of Military and Veterans Health.
Sports-Related Concussions in Youth: Improving the science, changing the culture
IOM report reviews the science of sports-related concussions in youth from elementary school through young adulthood, as well as in military personnel and their dependents.
Women of Color Health Information Collection
NIH Office of Research on Women's Health, presents data on race/ethnicity and disease.
Toxicology Tutorial - ToxTutor
Self-paced tutorial covering key principles of toxicology. Produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Health Case Studies: toward closing the healthcare communication gap
Composed of eight separate health case studies that align with the open textbooks Clinical Procedures for Safer Patient Care and Anatomy and Physiology: OpenStax. Each case study includes the patient narrative or story that models the best practice (at the time of publishing, 2017) in healthcare settings.

Principles of Epidemiolgy in Public Health Practice
Covers basic epidemiology principles, concepts, and procedures useful in the surveillance and investigation of health-related states or events.

Chartbook for Healthcare for Veterans
National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report Chartbook on Healthcare for Veterans

Epidemiology and Prevention of Vaccine-Preventable Diseases
Provides clinicians with the most comprehensive information on routinely used vaccines and the diseases they prevent. Also known as the "Pink Book".
Pain Management and the Opioid Epidemic: Balancing Societal and Individual Benefits and Risks of Prescription Opioid Use
A recent report from the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine summarizes the current status of the opioid epidemic, with important implications for all healthcare professionals, including nurses.
Communities in Action: Pathways to Health Equity
A new resource from the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine highlights promising community-driven approaches to advance health equity.

OER at UConn — Health

Open Educational Resources (OER) in Health