Topic: University Archives at UConn Archives & Special Collections

The collection contains a sequential series of minutes documenting the issues, concerns and activities of the President and Vice Presidents of the University from 1985 through 1990. An index to the minutes covering the years 1979-1985 is included. The documents in this collection were created during the presidential tenures of John A. DiBiaggio and Anthony DiBenedetto.

Records of the chief administrative officer of the University of Connecticut and its predecessor institutions. The records are subdivided by administration (with links to individual President's papers finding aids) and identified and more fully described by the name/tenure of the individual serving as president. In more recent years, the records are identified by date of transfer.

The records consist of minutes of meetings of the Senate and its associated committees, a variety of reports, information on new or redesigned courses and administrative files. Also included are the minutes of the faculty, prior to the establishment of the University Senate.

The collections contains documents, reports, studies and correspondence pertaining to the finances of the institution from 1999 to the present. Earlier materials can be found in the Records of the VP&COO, particularly in Series VIII. A 2015 transfer documents the planning and development of Storrs Center.

The collection contains meeting minutes of The Master Plan Advisory Committee from 1999-2004, one folder of notes, agenda, minutes, and handouts form the Building, Grounds, and Environment Commitee (2009), copies of House Bill no. 6003 (An Act Concerning 21st Century UConn), a program overview for 21st Century UConn, maps and a photgraph.

Administrative records including Founder's Day (calendar of events, programs, minutes), Field trip policy, Residence hall and dining facilities charges, 1943 - 1981.

The collection contains administrative records, correspondence, notes, publications, media contacts, student and faculty activity information, biographical files, departmental communications, news releases, published/distributed campus-wide communications such as UConn Chronicle, UConn Advance, Announce-L, and Daily Digest, from 1979 to present.

Archives & Special Collections also holds the records of the Office of Public Information, Athletic
Communications (Sports Information), the Papers of Walter Stemmons as well as many of the publications produced by these offices.

The collection contains the official minutes, reports, recommendations and resolutions of the Board of Trustees of the University of Connecticut, as well as its subcommittees and task forces. The records date from the founding of the institution in 1881 as the Storrs Agricultural School through the present.

In March 1953, a Committee of Five was appointed by the standing committee of the University Senate (acting at the request of the administration) to investigate the charge that four members of the faculty, Paul Zilsel, Robert Glass, Harold Lewis, and Emanuel Margolis, were communists. Committee members included Fred A. Cazel, Jr., Harold G. Halcrow, C. Albert Kind, Arthur L. Wood, and Marcel Kessel as Chairman. In a unanimous report, the committee recommended to the Board of Trustees that all four faculty members be retained at the University of Connecticut. These records primarily contain minutes of the Committee's meetings and the final report.

In the late 1960s, the University experienced significant changes, disruption and unrest among the faculty and student body. The white paper "The Continuing Crisis at UConn" provides some documentation and background for this period.