Topic: University Archives at UConn Archives & Special Collections

The University of Connecticut’s Archives & Special Collections holds many collections related to research topics related to University history in our University Archives collections. This guide provides a curated selection of published materials, manuscript collections, and digitized materials available in the CTDA. The guide is meant to provide a starting point for research into University Archives topics--it is not a comprehensive listing of all materials related to these topics held by the UConn Archives & Special Collections. 

Several pages of this guide draw from previous work done by Archives & Special Collections staff and student workers presented through Collection Spotlights hosted on the Archives & Special Collections blog. These posts are linked throughout the guide, and can provide you with additional information and resources on the topics covered on the guide.

The University Archives holds the institutional memory of the University of Connecticut and is the largest and most comprehensive source of information on the history and cultural heritage of UConn and its predecessor institutions. As the collective memory of the university, the Archives contains official and historical records including documentation of governance, policy, operation of administrative offices, research, programs, and publications. Unpublished materials in the Archives include photographs, films, memorabilia, administrative records of major university offices, and the papers of presidents, administrative officers, and members of the faculty. Special collections have also been established to document such important events as UCONN 2000 and the men’s and women’s national basketball championships. Formats accepted include manuscripts, diaries, correspondence, scrapbooks, photographs, ephemera, administrative records, sound recordings, moving images, accessible/supported electronic records.

The 10 tips for Navigating Archival Research slides were originally created by Archivist Graham Stinnett in 2022 for the Archives & Special Collections blog.