Requesting Materials Video
Requesting Materials
How to request archival materials from a Finding Aid (ArchivesSpace)
-
Search our finding aids using the "Archives" tab of the search bar at the top of our home page: https://lib.uconn.edu/location/asc/
-
Select the finding aid for the collection you are interested in from your search results.
-
You will not be able to request an entire collection or series within a collection through Aeon. You will need to narrow your request to specific items (also called files or folders). Using the "Collection Organization" window on the right side of the finding aid, navigate to the folder of materials you want to request by expanding the carrots for series/subseries.
-
Select the title of the folder of materials you want to request.
-
Click the "Aeon Request" button in the upper right corner of the screen. If you do not see an "Aeon Request" button this means you are either requesting something that is at too high level of description (such as at the Collection or Series/Subseries level, which is not specific enough, instead of something at the File/Folder/Item level) or you are requesting an item that does not have enough data to automatically generate a request form and will need to fill out a manual request for this item (see the "Requesting Materials Manually" section above for instructions).
-
Review your request and make any needed edits. Most information will be autofilled for you. Add the purpose of your research and if you've been working with any staff. You can also enter in notes for yourself in the “my notes” field, for example, a note about what research project your request is for. If you’d like to leave a note or question for ASC staff, you can do so in the “Special Requests” field.
-
If you've already made an appointment, select the appropriate appointment from the drop-down menu. If not, click schedule a new appointment and enter the necessary information.
-
Click "Submit Request."
-
Please Note: For in-person appointments, we only need to know which boxes you wish to consult during your visit; meaning you do not need to request every single individual item, folder, or file, only enough individual items to represent each box that will be utilized.
How to request archival materials from your Aeon account
Requesting archival materials from within your Aeon account follows many of the same steps as requesting from a finding aid, but you'll navigate to search the finding aids from within your Aeon account, rather than from the homepage of the ASC website.
-
Navigate to the "Make a Request" page.
-
Click the" Archival Collections" link.
-
Select a collection to request from, browse to an item, and click the "Request" button.
-
Click the checkbox(es) next to the containers(s) you wish to submit.
-
Select the appointment you scheduled from the "Appointment" dropdown menu (alternately use the "Schedule a New Appointment" button to schedule an appointment directly from the request form).
-
Click the "Submit Request" button.
-
Please Note: For in-person appointments, we only need to know which boxes you wish to consult during your visit; meaning you do not need to request every single individual item, folder, or file, only enough individual items to represent each box that will be utilized.
How to request published materials from the catalog
-
Navigate to the Archives and Special Collections homepage.
-
Click the “Articles and Library Catalog” tab over the search bar.
-
Enter your search terms and click "Search."
-
In the “Refine My Results” menu on the left side of the screen, select “Archives & Special Collections” under the “Library” dropdown menu to limit your results to our materials.
-
Once you’ve found the item you would like to request, click on the item title to open its catalog record.
-
Click the “Request for Reading Room” button.
-
Complete all required fields in the request form and click "Submit.."
How to request published materials from your Aeon account
-
Navigate to the "Make a Request" page.
-
Click the "UConn Library Catalog" link and search for an item to request.
-
Click on the item title to open the item's catalog record. Click the "Request" button.
-
On the "New Request" form, view the data carried over, noting the required fields.
-
Select the appointment you scheduled from the "Appointment" dropdown menu (alternately use the "Schedule a New Appointment" button to schedule an appointment from the request form).
-
Click the “Request for Reading Room” button.
-
Complete all required fields in the Aeon form and click submit.
How to request materials manually
- Log in to Aeon: https://s.uconn.edu/aeon
- Navigate to the "New Request" page.
- Click the "manual request" link under the "Make a Manual Request" heading.
- On the "New Request" form, complete the necessary information for a request.
- Ensure you complete the required fields.
- In the "Schedule Appointment" select your appointment from the "Appointment' drop down menu. If you have not already requested an appointment, click the "Schedule a New Appointment" button instead. Click on the date you wish to schedule an appointment for and choose an "Appointment Time" from the drop-down menu.
- Click the "Create Appointment" button.
- The "Appointment" field should now show your scheduled appointment.
- Click the Submit Request button.
What does it means when an item is listed as "not requestable?"
While searching our finding aids, researchers may encounter an error message stating that an item is "not requestable" or "not a requestable container."
This error message most often occurs for two specific reasons:
- A researching is trying to request something that is at too high level of description, such as a Series or Subseries, instead of an individual item.
- When there is no physical storage information attached to the item's record (no box or folder number assigned).
This error message does NOT mean the item is unavailable for research. It simply means that you cannot automatically generate a request through Aeon like normal. If you are receiving the error because you are accidentally trying to request an entire Series/Subseries, expand any drop-down(s) and navigate to a specific item (see Items Listed as "Not Requestable" slideshow below for examples). As long as the item has physical storage information assigned to it you should be able to click the "Aeon Request" button and automatically create a request. If the item is still labelled "not requestable," you will need to submit a manual request. Please see the "Requesting Materials Manually" tab for step-by-step instructions.
Requesting Archival Materials from a Finding Aid
Search our finding aids using the "Archives" tab of the search bar at the top of our home page: https://lib.uconn.edu/location/asc/
Select the finding aid for the collection you are interested in from your search results.
For large collections, you will not be able to request an entire collection through Aeon. You will need to narrow your request to specific folders. Using the "Collection Organization" window on the right side of the finding aid, navigate to the folder of materials you want to request by expanding the carrots for series/subseries.
Select the title of the folder of materials you want to request.
Click the "Aeon Request" button in the upper right corner of the screen.
Review your request and make any needed edits. Most information will be autofilled for you.
Add the purpose of your research and if you've been working with any staff. You can also enter in notes for yourself in the “my notes” field, for example, a note about what research project your request is for. If you’d like to leave a note or question for ASC staff, you can do so in the “Special requests/questions” box.
Select the appointment that you are requesting the materials for, or schedule a new appointment.
Click "Submit Request."
Requesting Published Materials from the Catalog
Navigate to the Archives and Special Collections homepage.
Click the “Articles and Library Catalog” tab over the search bar.
Enter your search terms and click "search."
In the “refine my results” menu on the left side of the screen, select “archives and special collections” under the “Library” dropdown menu to limit your results to ASC materials.
Click “Apply Filters”
Once you’ve found the item you would like to request, click on the item title to open the catalog record.
If there are multiple copies of the item, select the “Archives & Special Collections” location.
Click the “Request for Reading Room” button.
Complete all required fields in the Aeon form and click "submit."
Items Listed as "Not Requestable"
Navigating through a Collection's Finding Aid
When you arrive at a collection's page it will display the Collection Title at the very top of the page (outlined in red, top of image). You can navigate through the collection's inventory by using the Collection Organization sidebar (outlined in red, bottom of image).
Example of a Series within a Collection (Not Requestable)
As you click through the collection organization, take note of how things are structured. You can see the Collection Title at the very top of the hierarchy, with Series listed out below it. Note that Series often have drop-down arrow button to their right. If you click the drop-down arrow you will see and expanded list of any Subseries or items included in the Series.
Example of a Subseries within a Collection (Not Requestable)
You will need to navigate through these Series and Subseries drop-down menus until you find an individual item you want to request.
Example of an Individual Item (Requestable)
You can tell you have a clicked on an individual as items do not have a drop-down arrow next to their listing in the Collection Organization. You can also tell by clicking on the item's listing to open its full record. At the top of the item's page you will see the Item Title and just below a line of text that reads "File" and then typically some sort of unique identifier, like a box and/or folder number. "File" refers to an individual folder or item, as opposed to a Series or Subseries, so if you see this designation, you have navigated to what is called the lowest level of description and as long as the item/file/folder has physical storage information linked to its record, you should be able to request it by clicking the "Aeon Request" button at the top right corner of the page.
