Finding Information on your Topic
If you are new to the field of anthropology or archeology, creating an anthropological research question may be daunting if you never have done research in the subject before. In this page, check the various books listed that offer background information on the major fields, topics and subjects that can be studied in anthropology and archeology. All these books are available online. You can search them by topic and learn more about the topic you want to explore for your research paper. If you have questions, feel free to contact me for help!
Background Information
Encyclopedia of Anthropology by Topics covered: physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology and much more.
Theory in Social and Cultural Anthropology by ISBN: 9781412999632Publication Date: 2013-09-27This encyclopedia is a source that provides a quick overview of a particular theory and theorist with just the basics—the “who, what, where, how, and why”.
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by The encyclopedia comprises of 4,000 articles, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes in the social and behavioral sciences.
Check this free textbook in Cultural Anthropology for more background information:
- Perspectives: An Open Invitation to Cultural Anthropology
The first peer-reviewed open access textbook for cultural anthropology courses. Produced by the Society for Anthropology in Community Colleges.
Death and the Afterlife by This cultural encyclopedia examines customs and beliefs relating to death and burial in clear, well written articles covering most major religious and cultural traditions from prehistoric to modern times.
Shamanism: An Encyclopedia of World Beliefs, Practices, and CultureA guide to worldwide shamanism and shamanistic practices, emphasizing historical and current cultural adaptations.
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas by This encyclopedia covers the African American experience from 1619 to the present day.
Handbook of Native American Mythology by This work introduces readers to the mythologies of Native Americans from the United States to the Arctic Circle.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by ISBN: 9780195156003Publication Date: 2005-08-25The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States offers comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information about the fastest growing minority population in the nation.
The Oxford Encyclopaedia of South Asian Christianity by ISBN: 9780198073857Publication Date: 2012The Oxford Encyclopaedia of South Asian Christianity covers the 2000-year old story of Christianity in India and its neighbouring countries. Looking at Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal, Bhutan, and Maldives, alongside India, as well as Myanmar, Afghanistan, and the global South Asian diaspora, the Encyclopaedia celebrates the trans-cultural, migratory, and unique nature of South Asian Christianity.
Biological Anthropology of the Human Skeleton by This work presents the work related to the scientific analysis of human skeletal remains recovered from archaeological sites.
Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior by Topics covered: physical activity, stress and health, smoking, pain management, social support and health, cardiovascular health, health promotion, and HIV/AIDS.
Documenting Domestication : New Genetic and Archaeological Paradigms by This volume brings together leading archaeologists and biologists working on the domestication of both plants and animals to consider a wide variety of archaeological and genetic approaches to tracing the origin and dispersal of domesticates.
Human Diet by ISBN: 0897897366Publication Date: 2002-03-30The resources cover studies of traditional peoples, non-human primates, human fossil and archaeological remains, nutritional chemistry, and evolutionary medicine, to name just a few.
