Digital Collections
Biblioteca Nacional de España Hemeroteca Digital
The Biblioteca Nacional de España Hemeroteca Digital includes digitized materials from the collections of Spain's national library. It includes materials not only from Spain, but also from Argentina, Chile, Cuba, Mexico, Peru, Puerto Rico, Uruguay, and Venezuela. Mostly Spanish, navigation available in English, Catalan, Euskara, Galician, and French
Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Histórica (BVPH)
The Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Histórica is a digital collection of newspapers and cultural magazines in the languages of Spain. It includes more than 10 million pages from 1.3 million newspapers and magazines from 103 Spanish libraries. Spanish, Catalan, Euskara, Galician, navigation available in English
Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes
The Miguel de Cervantes Virtual Library is maintained by the University of Alicante and is the largest open-access repository of digitized Spanish-language historical texts and literature from Spain and Latin America. Spanish
Hispana
Hispana brings together the digital collections of Spanish archives, libraries, and museums. It offers access to material including manuscripts, published books, photographs, and maps. Spanish
Lope y el teatro del Siglo de Oro
Lope y el teatro del Siglo de Oro is a digital exposition of the Biblioteca Nacional de España that includes digitized Siglo de Oro theatrical manuscripts, documents, and other items. Spanish
Novela Mundial Series
The University of Colorado Boulder's La Novela Mundial Series digital collection includes twelve books from a series of popular fiction published in Madrid between 1926 and 1928 during the dictatorship of Primo de Rivera. Among many collections of short literature and other publications, La Novela Mundial represents one of the larger collections of the period before the Spanish Civil War. English with Spanish materials
Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro
The Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro full text database contains the most important plays of the sixteenth and seventeenth century in Spain, either edited by the playwrights themselves or by an editor "endorsed" by the playwright. The database contains more than 800 plays written by 16 dramatists including Lope de Vega, Calderón de la Barca, and Agustín Moreto. English with Spanish materials
Trabajadores: The Spanish Civil War though the Eyes of Organised Labour
Trabajadores: The Spanish Civil War through the eyes of organised labour is a digital archive of the University of Warwick that includes more than 4,000 documents. It is organized by theme, is fully searchable, and includes illustrated timelines and maps. English
Quijotes
Quijotes is a project of the Bibioteca Nacional de España dedicated to the editions of Don Quijote de la Mancha. It includes descriptions of editions in Spanish as well as editions in French, German, English, Italian, Russian, Japonese, Chinese, Arabic, and Hebrew. Spanish
Materials on Microfilm
Microform Collections are located on Level B of the Babbidge Library. These collections consist of microfilm (reels) and microfiche (sheets). They are grouped by format and arranged alphabetically by collection title in the microform cabinets. Microform collections are research materials that cannot be checked out from the library. See Finding Materials on Microform for additional information.
Colonial Latin American Manuscripts and Transcripts in the Obadiah Rich Collection
| Scope | Spanish and Portuguese documents relating to the conquest of America from 1492-1843. |
| Format | Microfilm (33 reels) |
| Arrangement | Numbered documents from 1 to 102. |
| Indexes | Colonial Latin American Manuscripts and Transcripts in the Obadiah Rich collection: A Guide to the Microfilm Edition. |
Spanish Drama of the Golden Age
| Scope | 3,200 plays of the Spanish Golden Age, in editions of the seventeenth through the early nineteenth centuries. |
| Format | Microfilm (86 reels) |
| Arrangement | In order by item number. |
| Indexes | Spanish Drama of the Golden Age. |
- Golden Age Theater's Authors' IndexList of all authors present in the collection and which reel includes their work
- Golden Age Theater's Reel ListList that show which titles are available on each reel in the collection
United States State Dept. Diplomatic Despatches to Spain
| Scope | Diplomatic despatches to Spain, 1792-1906. |
| Format | Microfilm (175reels) |
| Arrangement | Chronological within each country. |
| Indexes | Despatches from United States Ministers to Spain 1792-1906 |
