LibGuides: Maritime Studies Subject Guide: Class Assignments: MAST/HIST 2210E

Assignments Spring 2024

Searching databases:

use terms and synonyms that were useful when searching for books and their subjects, and narrow down your terms to make them more specific
click on Download PDF or Full Text Available to read the full article
request items as needed from Interlibrary Services
when exporting citation, opt for the Chicago style, and always scrutinize for potential errors

Suggested databases:

JSTOR
Essential scholarly journals in many academic fields, especially arts, literature, and the humanities.
more...less...
Available at the title level in Primo
Academic Search Premier
Includes articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines covering a wide variety of disciplines with the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Project MUSE
Full text access to journals and ebooks in classics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, religion, and visual and performing arts.

Help from a Librarian

Maria Bernier, Avery Point Campus
maria.bernier@uconn.edu
860-405-9148
Book an appointment

Media formats:

Video, audio: YouTube (add filters), Wikimedia Commons
Podcasts: Google Podcast, Apple Podcast app, NPR, Spotify
2D visual material: Wikimedia Commons, Google Images
Data visualizations: Google
Add the format to your search terms in Google: imperialism Brazil Portugal data visualization

What is a Primary Source? https://guides.lib.uconn.edu/primary_source

Large collections of scanned stuff:

Subject-specific sites:

National collections:

Library of Congress Digital Collections: photos, illustrations, manuscripts, books, audio, film, and more
British N ational Archives: search the catalogue
National archives, libraries, and museums in other countries

Newspapers

British Newspaper Archive: different contents from the UConn Library database called British Library Newspapers
Chronicling America: historic American newspapers dating back to 1777

Resources available through UConn databases:

British Library Newspapers: available from UConn Library
Historical Periodicals from ProQuest: Cross search of two databases: American Periodicals and British Periodicals Series.
Nineteenth-Century British Pamphlets: Access to thousands of nineteenth-century British pamphlets that illuminate key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day.
Zoological Record: Scholarly articles, books, and reports from 1864 to present on zoology, ecology, taxonomy and biology of living and fossil animals.
UConn Library databases: Choose Resource Type =
- Primary Sources for Humanities and Social Sciences
- Temporary Primary Source Databases
- Newspapers and TV News, such as Historical Newspapers from ProQuest
UConn Library Advanced Search