Maritime Studies Subject Guide — Class Assignments: MAST 2101

Background Information

• Connecticut History article, "Ferry Boats a Way of Life in Early Connecticut," June 2022
  • Whittlesey. Crossing and Re-Crossing the Connecticut River - ON RESERVE at Avery Point Library - ask at the main desk
  • Wright. Crossing the Connecticut - online from the Library of Congress
  • Hubbard. Crossings - ON RESERVE at Avery Point Library - ask at the main desk

Useful Books

• The Colonial Period of American History, The Settlements vol. II, by Charles M. Andrews - on reserve at the Avery Point library
• Diary of Joshua Hempstead of New London, Connecticut - Internet Archive version | Google Books version
• History of New London, Connecticut, from the first survey of the coast in 1612 to 1860, by Francis Manwaring Caulkins - Internet Archive version
• History of New London County, Connecticut with Biographical Sketches of Many of Its Pioneers and Prominent Men. by D. Hamilton Hurd, 1882 - Internet Archive 

Newspapers

• The Day [New London], 2009-present - check with Maria (maria.bernier@uconn.edu) at the Avery Point library to be logged in to the site
• The Day [New London], 1881-2024 - will require an individual subscription to Newspapers.com to get full results
• Hartford Courant, 1887-present, four sources with overlapping dates (search within each source) 
• Providence Journal, 1994-present
• Chronicling America: historic American newspapers dating back to 1777, including local Connecticut papers

UConn databases:

• Early American Newspapers (1690-1922) 
• Historical Newspapers from ProQuest

Large collections of scanned stuff:

• Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA)
• Treasures of Connecticut Libraries
• Digital Public Library of America
• HathiTrust
• Wikimedia Commons
• Library of Congress Digital Collections: photos, illustrations, manuscripts, books, audio, film, and more

Local History collections (historical societies, public libraries, and museums)

• Chester Historical Society
• Connecticut Archives Online with descriptions of individual collections at contributing historical societies
• Connecticut State Library, Colonial & Early State Records
• ConnecticutHistory.org, from Connecticut Humanities
• Deep River Historical Society
• East Lyme Historical Society
• East Lyme Public Library, Local History collection
• Glastonbury Historical Society
• Ledyard Historical Society
• Lyme Public Hall Local History Archives located within the Lyme Public Library
• Mystic River Historical Society
• Mystic Seaport collections: search both catalogs
• New London County Historical Society
• Rocky Hill Historical Society

State Ferries

• Chester-Hadlyme Ferry
• Rocky Hill-Glastonbury Ferry

Searching databases: 

• use terms and synonyms that were useful when searching for books and their subjects, and narrow down your terms to make them more specific
• click on Download PDF or Full Text Available to read the full article
• request items as needed from Interlibrary Services
• when exporting citation, opt for the Chicago style, and always scrutinize for potential errors 

Suggested databases:

Help from a Librarian

Maria Bernier, Avery Point Campus
maria.bernier@uconn.edu
860-405-9148
Book an appointment

Ask a Librarian