Encyclopedias, Handbooks and Readers
When researching your topic for the first time, it is always a good idea to do some preliminary research. By reading about a broad topic, you can identify an aspect of that topic that you want to explore further. In this page I share several type of resources, what we called tertiary sources and/reference sources that will get you started on your research. This is just a sampling of what we have in electronic format. You can search WorldCat or the General Search box at the library website to look for more books both print and online.
For background research is OK to start a broad search but after reading on a broad topic, you need to narrow it down to a manageable topic to find more specific books and articles to answer your research question.
21st Century Sociology (eBook) by 21st Century Sociology: A Reference Handbook provides a concise forum through which the vast array of knowledge accumulated, particularly during the past three decades, can be organized into a single definitive resource. The two volumes of this Reference Handbook focus on the corpus of knowledge garnered in traditional areas of sociological inquiry, as well as document the general orientation of the newer and currently emerging areas of sociological inquiry.
Sociology of Work (eBook) by The simple act of going to work every day is an integral part of all societies across the globe. It is an ingrained social contract: we all work to survive. But it goes beyond physical survival. Psychologists have equated losing a job with the trauma of divorce or a family death, and enormous issues arise, from financial panic to sinking self-esteem. Through work, we build our self-identity, our lifestyle, and our aspirations. How did it come about that work dominates so many parts of our lives and our psyche? This multi-disciplinary encyclopedia covers curricular subjects that seek to address that question, ranging from business and management to anthropology, sociology, social history, psychology, politics, economics, and health.
Handbook of Sociology of Aging by With its recurring attention to the social forces that shape human aging, and the social consequences and policy implications of it, the contents will be of interest to everyone who cares about what aging means for individuals, families, and societies.
Political Sociology by Designed to help students analyze and understand political developments in the world around them, this unique text covers a wide array of political sociology concepts and theoretical perspectives.
Sociology of Family Life by This book explores the growing diversity of family life by presenting a comprehensive assessment of recent research and theory, and foregrounds new thinking about 'family', parenting, childhood and personal life.
Urban Sociology by This concise yet comprehensive overview of the political and economic development of the world's cities offers a unique emphasis on its cultural impacts. The book emphasizes the transition from modern (industrial) to post-modern (post-industrial) eras and its effect on established and developing global cities, and arguments are supported with case studies for each of the main concepts of urban theory and research.
