General Databases
These databases are not exclusively history-related. However, they can provide a wealth of secondary sources for your research. And often, secondary sources can lead you to primary sources.
- Academic Search Premier
Includes articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines covering a wide variety of disciplines with the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Project MUSEFull text access to journals and ebooks in classics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, religion, and visual and performing arts.
- JSTORScholarly journals in many academic fields, especially arts, literature, humanities, and biology.
Newspapers
Newspapers are a great resource for primary sources. Newspapers will often include advertisements for slaves for sale, rewards for information on runaway slaves, and editorials. In ProQuest Historical Newspapers, you can also find nine Black historical newspapers, including the New York Amsterdam News. You may wish to compare articles in this newspaper to the white mainstream papers, such as the New York Times.
- Early American Newspapers (1690-1922)
Scanned newspapers published between 1690 – 1922.
- Historical Newspapers from ProQuest
Search for historical articles in a variety of major American and international newspapers published between 1764-2019. See more info for complete list of newspapers included.
- Times Digital Archive 1785-2019
Includes all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos from the Times of London.
Other Primary Sources
This section includes databases that will lead you to primary sources, other than newspapers.
- Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineIncludes online access to books published during the 18th Century covering history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, and science.
- Historical Statistics of the United StatesStatistics of the United States, covering population, work and welfare, economics, governance, and international relations, including census data, some dating back to the 1600s.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000Includes books, images, essays, book and website reviews, and other primary sources covering various women's and social movements between 1600-2000.
- Slavery and Anti-SlaveryIncludes books, pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, legal documents, court records, monographs, manuscripts, and maps documenting the historical conflict over slavery in the United States.
- Slavery, Abolition, and Social JusticeIncludes primary source documents on key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries covering slavery in the early Americas; African coast; urban and domestic slavery; resistance and revolts; the abolition movement and the slavery debate; legislation and politics; freedmen and free Black settlements; experiences of enslaved people; and the legacy of slavery.
