Scientific Research and Communication — Essential Resources

The definitive handbook on critical thinking for medical and graduate students in biomedical sciences. First-year medical and graduate students in biomedical sciences face a variety of challenges in learning to study, feeling as though they belong, and learning to adopt the intellectual habits of their chosen profession. Crucial to their success in this key career period is learning critical thinking, which involves slowing down, as well as considering causality, epistemology, ethics, and one's own cognitive biases.

A roadmap for running a lab-and developing the leadership skills you didn't know you needed. As a graduate student and postdoctoral researcher, chemist Jen Heemstra learned how to collect data, write papers, and give talks to other scientists. But when, just a few years into her first job as a principal investigator, conflict broke out in the lab, she realized there was one skill she hadn't learned: leadership. Labwork to Leadership is the book that every PI needs.

In this short handbook, science communicator Felice C. Frankel offers a quick guide for scientists and engineers who want to share--and better understand--their research by designing compelling graphics for journal submissions, grant applications, presentations, and posters.

Policymakers, like most people today, have a world of information within easy reach, much of it wrong. How, amid the chaos and misdirection of our day's information ecosystem, can science compete for the attention and trust of those who make public policy--especially at a time when issues like proliferating infectious diseases and climate change put a premium on accurate and relevant scientific information? What's needed, Barry Bozeman suggests in Science Competes, is a clearer understanding of how scientific information is conveyed, how it is understood and used, and where it fits in the wide array of information that might be of use to those who make and administer policy, laws, and regulations, as well as citizens who actively participate in public life.

Writing is an essential skill in today's workplace. Martha Coven begins with the basics, explaining how to develop a professional style, get started on a piece of writing, create a first draft, and edit it into a strong final product. She then offers practical advice on more than a dozen forms of writing, from emails and slide decks to proposals and cover letters. Along the way, Coven provides a wealth of concrete examples and simple templates that make the concepts easy to understand and apply.

This user-friendly guide provides a unique cross-disciplinary approach to developing the knowledge, skills, and habits of mind to achieve evolving communication goals. Topics include optimizing language and visuals, designing comparisons, composing logic stories, conveying authenticity, clarifying data and uncertainty, supporting reasoning and decision-making, avoiding backfires, reading body language, and cultivating empathy

Although this book is intended for biomedical researchers, it addresses subjects of cross-disciplinary importance for scientific research such as research, communication, and publication. Evolving topics such as artificial intelligence, machine and deep learning, drug repurposing approaches, and bioinformatics are included. Additionally, it covers publication strategies, including literature search, manuscript preparation, data presentation, relevant discussion, editorial processes, elements of peer review, and bibliometrics. Finally, the book addresses grantsmanship, key strategies for building effective networks, mentorships, maintaining research integrity, and forging career advancement opportunities, including entrepreneurship.

What is the role of professional scholars in civic life? How and why should academics seek to reach audiences beyond their disciplines and institutions? Must there be tension between advancing along an academic career path and taking part in public conversations, or can these goals reinforce each other?

This book is a practitioner's guide to civic engagement today, showing current and aspiring social scientists how to build a career in the public sphere.

A common question posed to PhD students from friends and family is, "What will you do after?" But many students are too focused on the PhD itself and have not yet had a chance to sufficiently think about post-PhD life. This book is a collection of 22 interviews with those have completed a PhD and then are now in an academic position or another career path. In either case, they have all been successful and have a multitude of insights to share with those who are interested in considering a variety of careers.

A common question posed to PhD students from friends and family is, "What will you do after?" But many students are too focused on the PhD itself and have not yet had a chance to sufficiently think about post-PhD life. This book is a collection of 31 interviews with those who have completed a PhD and are now in a non-academic role. Interviewees provide background into their PhD topic and discuss how they transitioned to their current position, including what additional training was necessary and how their PhD training has helped them succeed.

This book provides doctoral students, junior faculty and early-career researchers with guidelines, resources and strategies for performing and publishing academic research successfully.

This book describes common types of science skepticism, how these controversial narratives stick, and how scientists can more effectively counter them through storytelling   Science v. Story analyzes four scientific controversies--climate change, evolution, vaccination, and COVID-19--through the lens of storytelling. Instead of viewing stories as adversaries to scientific practices, Emma Frances Bloomfield demonstrates how storytelling is integral to science communication.

In this concrete guide for Ph.D. candidates across disciplines, Foss and Waters approach the process of writing a high-quality dissertation as a vacation from normal routine-one that can be exciting, stimulating, and yes, accomplished in under one year.

Science communication is becoming increasingly important. Research institutions, scientists and science communicators want to engage with society, share their knowledge and build trust. At the same time, it is about competition for research funds and top personnel. So how do you get it right - and what do you need to consider when developing your communication strategy?

Writing and the sciences are intricately linked. Without writing, science would not exist - and could not be funded, communicated, replicated, enhanced, or applied. Further, writing helps scientists (and students) understand the science, explain the results of research in a greater context, and develop new ideas. Working from this philosophy, this book primarily addresses undergraduate STEM majors and minors who want or need to improve their scientific writing skills

Con esto en mente, el autor de esta obra busca orientar a divulgadores y docentes acerca de su quehacer para que puedan compartir datos y conocimientos que sean conceptualmente precisos y fiables. Mediante un lenguaje sencillo y una metodología innovadora, este libro presenta conceptos y reflexiones para mejorar la escritura de artículos y estrategias de divulgación de la ciencia, así como sugerencias enfocadas en hacer más accesibles los temas de interés actual para el público general.

Once upon a time, it was the lone scientist who achieved brilliant breakthroughs. No longer. Today, science is done in teams of as many as hundreds of researchers who may be scattered across continents and represent a range of hierarchies. These collaborations can be powerful, but they demand new ways of thinking about scientific research. When three hundred people make a discovery, who gets credit? How can all collaborators' concerns be adequately addressed? Why do certain STEM collaborations succeed while others fail? Focusing on the nascent science of team science, this book synthesizes the results of the most far-reaching study to date on collaboration among university scientists to provide answers to such questions.