Library Resources for Public Policy
This guide provides a directory of resources related to public policy and public administration including databases, news sources, data and statistics, public opinion polls, legislative documents and more.
For assistance with locating sources, research questions, or to schedule class presentations please email me at karen.tatarka@uconn.edu.
Encyclopedias and Handbooks
If you are new to research in Public Policy and Public Administration, handbooks and encyclopedias are helpful in providing background and context on your topic before you begin your in-depth research in the Library databases. Listed below are examples of online handbooks and encyclopedias available to UConn students and faculty.
The Oxford Handbook of Public Management by ISBN: 9780199226443Publication Date: 2007-08-16This Handbook brings together leading international scholars to comment on key current issues. The individual chapters include broad overviews, in depth explorations of particular thematic areas and analyses of different theoretical perspectives such as political science, management, sociology and economics.
The Oxford Handbook of Governance and Public Management for Social Policy by ISBN: 9780190916329Publication Date: 2023-04-11This handbook surveys knowledge from all six of the planet’s continuously inhabited continents to understand how governments and related institutions have attempted to advance human development and improve social outcomes over the past several decades. The current state of knowledge about the social welfare sphere is robust, but explorers of its two conceptual hemispheres—social policy and social administration—have too often missed opportunities to share insights and trace connections across cultural, historical, geographic, and disciplinary boundaries.
The Oxford Handbook of Public Policy by ISBN: 0199269289Publication Date: 2006-10-05The Oxford Handbooks of Political Science is a ten-volume set of reference books offering authoritative and engaging critical overviews of the state of political science. Each volume focuses on a particular part of the discipline, with volumes on Public Policy, Political Theory, Political Economy, Contextual Political Analysis, Comparative Politics, International Relations, Law and Politics, Political Behavior, Political Institutions, and Political Methodology.
Handbook of Public Administration by ISBN: 9781119004325Publication Date: 2015-02-11The fundamentals of public administration, from the world's leading practitioners Handbook of Public Administration is the classic, comprehensive guide to the field, featuring original writings from the world's foremost public administration thought leaders and practitioners. Intended to help both public administration students and practitioners navigate administrative challenges, overcome obstacles, and improve effectiveness, this guide provides a complete overview of the entire field.
Popular Journals
Click on the cover of the journal below to view the most recent issue UConn has access to in BrowZine, an interface the Library provides for viewing and reading journals. BrowZine also has a downloadable app for your mobile device and you can curate your own shelf of journal titles. The titles listed below are an example of those with high impact factors in Journal Citation Reports (JCR).
 |
 |
 |
| Public Administration Review | Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory |
Public Management Review |
 |
 |
 |
| Public Administration | Review of Public Personnel Administration |
Policy Studies Journal |
Requests for Purchase
If you would like to suggest the library purchase a particular book or other resource, please use the UConn Library Purchase Request form.
Requests for purchase are reviewed by subject specialists using the Library's Collection Development Policy. Please note that items may take up to 8 weeks to arrive, with certain requests taking longer.
