Dramatic Arts — Resources for Costume Design

[online access 1965 to present] Costume is a scholarly, refereed publication presenting current research into historic and contemporary dress. The journal publishes articles from a broad chronological period and with a worldwide remit; it maintains a balance between practice and theory and concentrates on the social significance of dress. The journal also includes reviews and listings of new books, journal articles and exhibitions.

Among the Theatre and Performance collections there are over 3,500 stage costumes and accessories - ranging from complete outfits to individual headdresses. All are a tribute to the creativity and skills of designers and costume makers from the mid 18th century to today, in every kind of live performance - drama, opera, dance, musicals, pantomime, rock and pop, music hall, cabaret, circus.

Digital images of garments and accessories from the 18th Century through the Present

Texts and images from the collections. Please note that access to some material in this collection is restricted to computers within The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Explore fashion – historical clothing and accessories, contemporary designs, catwalk photographs, drawings, sketches, plates, catalogues and videos – from more than 30 European public and private institutions.

[online access 1997 to present] Fashion Theory takes as its starting point a definition of “fashion” as the cultural construction of the embodied identity. It provides an interdisciplinary forum for the rigorous analysis of cultural phenomena ranging from footbinding to fashion advertising.

An open access database that contains scans of issues published between November 1867 – December 1900, with very few gaps.

[online coverage1992 (Vol. 4, no. 1) - present] A peer-reviewed journal on all aspects of the science and technology of clothing-objective measurement techniques, control of fiber and fabric, CAD systems, product testing, sewing, weaving and knitting, inspection systems, drape and finishing, etc.

A rare collection of original materials on the theatre comprising over 5000 items from more than 150 productions in England and the United States. These materials include costume and set designs, sketches, notes, photographs, prop lists, storyboards, and swatches of fabric.

[Online access from 01/01/1999] Introduces new concepts, innovative technologies, and improved understanding of textile materials, processes, chemistry and systems. Textile Research Journal includes research on: fibers, fibrous assemblies, textiles, and other fiber-based materials such as nonwovens including novel, non-traditional applications such as in technical textiles, reinforced composites, geotextiles, filtration, transportation, health care and biomaterials, smart, intelligent, electronic, and nano applications.

Google Arts & Culture