Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Introduction to Journal Metrics
Journal metrics illustrate the impact of a journal on its field. Metrics do not translate into "quality" but they are indicative of importance. They should always be used in conjuction with other evaluative tools to determine a journal's quality.
Analyzing Journals Using Scopus:
Scopus is a multidisciplinary citation database covering many disciplines in the sciences and social sciences. It has a number of analytical tools for journals, authors and articles. Learn about Scopus journal analysis here. The University of Connecticut subscribes to this database.
Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a subscription database from the makers of Web of Science, the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI). The JCR provides rankings for journals included in the Web of Science database and includes journals in science and social science areas, and to a lesser degree in Arts & Humanities. It includes quantitative measures for ranking, evaluating, categorizing, and comparing journals, including the journal impact factor, a measurement of a journal's importance to a field calculated by citation rates. The University of Connecticut subscribes to this database.
Google Scholar Metrics
Google Scholar Metrics
Google Scholar Metrics provides information about journal rankings and ratings by various metrics. Browse the top 100 publication titles in 9 different languages, or search by broad subject research areas and numerous subcategories. Scholar Metrics uses those articles published between 2014 and 2018 and citation from all articles indexed in Google Scholar.
Journal Impact Factor
An offshoot of citation analysis is Journal Impact Factor (JIF) that is used to sort or rank journals by their relative importance. The underlying assumption behind Impact Factors (IF) is that journals with high IF publish articles that are cited more often than journals with lower IF.
CWTS Journal Indicators
In the CWTS Journal Indicators, information is available by discipline, with journal titles ranked within that discipline. Searching by individual titles is also an option but the context is best seen discipline-wide.
JournalGuide is a free directory of journal profile pages, searchable by key words, journal titles, and disciplines. The tool's purpose is to help authors find quality journals in which to publish and serve as editors and reviewers.
SCImago Journal Rank (SJR)
SCIMago Journal & Country Rank is a database that provides a measure of the scientific prestige of scholarly sources: value of weighted citations per document and is inspired by Google's Page Rank algorithm. It is a free source that uses data from Elsevier's Scopus database and includes journal indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus database since 1996.
The H Index is a metric which attempts to measure both productivity and impact. It can be applied at the journal, author or article level. H indexes are available via the databases Scopus and Web of Science. The websites Scimago and Google Scholar also provides H indexes for journals quite easily