LibGuides: Chinese Studies Subject Guide: Finding Articles, Books, Films & More

Library Resources

Finding books about or in Chinese language (print or electronic) is not different from finding English language books. Search the Library's General Search (for locally own material) and WorldCat (to identify materials that can be request it through the Interlibrary Services). The key is using the right keywords to search for your topic using the Subject Field in the Advance Search option available in both catalog. To control the results list, make sure to select the format of the materials you want to find, e.g. books, articles, videos, etc.

Because Chinese is spoken in other countries besides China you can further refine your search by region or dialect. You can do a simple search with your keywords but play with the search options to expand or narrow or refine your search results.

In addition you can use Non-Roman characters can be searched in names, titles, series, notes, and many subjects (but not all).

Feel free to play with keywords and select different filters (or limits as they are also known) to explore what is written on your topic.

WorldCat
Access to worldwide library catalog of books, journals, DVDs, CDs, scores, and sound recordings.

Although the library has only one Chinese language newspapers database, we do have databases that cover Chinese Studies topics, from newspaper coverage and digitized books to academic/scholarly/peer reviewed articles. Check out the multidisciplinary databases on this page to find articles in your topic. If we don't have access to the full text of an article, you can still get access to the article through Interlibrary Services!

Chinese Newspapers Collection
Includes articles, editorials, comics and ads from 12 English-language Chinese newspapers from 1832 to 1953 including North China Herald, Canton Times, China Press, Peking Daily News, Peking Gazette, and Shanghai Times.
HathiTrust Digital Library
As members of HathiTrust, UConn users can access 100,000 digitized books and journals in a wide variety of languages. Go to the Advanced Search and use the following limits: from the search drop-down menu, select, Subject. From the Language menu, select Chinese. For example, you can search for Chinese Literature (Subject Search) and Limit the language to Chinese to see all the digitized books in Chinese on Chinese Literature.
MLA International Bibliography
Scholarly articles, ebooks, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies in literature and linguistics.
Project MUSE
Check the Chinese Studies and the Chinese language sections. You can search for articles directly instead of searching the whole site.
JSTOR
You can narrow your search to look only at Chinese Studies or Asian Studies journals.
Academic Search Premier
Includes articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines covering a wide variety of disciplines with the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Biographical essays on various authors as well as criticism and interpretation of plays, novels, poetry and short stories.
Google Scholar
Scholarly articles, books, theses on a variety of topics through Google interface.

General Search
Tip to find films: use the keyword "videorecording" to narrow your search only to DVDs. Otherwise, you will get results for CDs and VHS (Not what you want!). Also, use the name of the country that you want to research on as a keyword to see only films from/about that country, e.g. China AND videorecording

Interlibrary Services

Interlibrary Services provides materials free of charge to valid UConn users. Services provided include:

ILLiad
Request materials not owned by UConn.
Scan on Demand
Request the scan and electronic delivery of chapters and articles from the UConn Library's print resources.
Request Service
Request circulating items from UConn's collections be held for pickup at the campus library of your choice.
Interlibrary Services FAQ

Using the Library's General Search

The UConn Library's General Search box enables you to access our books, electronic materials such as ejournals and ebooks, and Connecticut Digital Archive (CTDA) materials with one search. Filters and facets narrow your results to suit your needs.

Advanced General Search Guide
A guide to using an advanced search in the UConn Library's main "Articles + Library Catalog" search box.
Link to UConn Library Advanced Search
Use the Advanced Search to limit your search to just book or just articles. You can also use the Advanced Search to search by author, title, or subject.

Chinese Studies Subject Guide — Finding Articles, Books, Films & More

Library Resources

Interlibrary Services

Using the Library's General Search