LibGuides: Public Policy Subject Guide: Connecticut-Specific Resources

Public policy documents created by the Connecticut General Assembly's Office of Legislative Research

The Connecticut Office of Legislative Research provides lawmakers with analysis and data around public policy issues; many publications are provided online, or visit their library in the State Capitol.

Connecticut Office of Legislative Research Major Issues
Summaries of public policy issues in areas such as commerce, education, housing, public health, etc. for each legislative session.
Connecticut Office of Legislative Research Reports
The Office of Legislative Research produces dozens of reports every session at the request of individual legislators or committees. Reports can summarize existing legislation in other states or provide detailed analysis and data on CT public policy issues.
Connecticut Office of Legislative Research: Committee subject area Research Guides
Organized to support the work of a single legislative committee, each of these Research Guides provides valuable links to Recent OLR Reports, state organizations, mandated CT agency reports, and more.

Connecticut General Assembly Legislative Committee directory

Connecticut General Assembly Legislative Committee directory
Task Forces within individual committees can be excellent source of research & data on public policy issues; Committee pages often include links to relevant commissions, state agencies, and associations; Archives link includes bills committee reports, etc. from prior sessions

Sources for data on Connecticut public-policy issues

CT Open Data Portal
Datasets from all Connecticut administrative agencies, organized by topic.
Office of Policy Management: Data and Resources
Connecticut Data Collaborative
Census Bureau and other data related to Connecticut.
Connecticut Economic Resource Center Town Profiles

American Community Survey (U.S. Census Bureau)

The American Community Survey is the best source of demographic and socioeconomic data for small areas, including CT towns, congressional districts, state legislative districts, school districts, Census tracts, and more. Examples among thousands of data tables for CT include

Selective list of Connecticut public policy nonprofits

Achieve Hartford!
(Issues in Hartford's K-12 schools)
Connecticut Citizen Research Group
Connecticut Coalition for Achievement Now (ConnCAN)
(public education)
Connecticut Economic Development Association
Connecticut School Finance Project
Financing of K-12 schools
Connecticut Voices for Children
(child welfare, education, health, juvenile justice)
Hartford Foundation for Public Giving
Open Communities Alliance
(fair housing, municipal zoning, segregation)
Partnership for Strong Communities
(Affordable housing, community development, homelessness)
Yankee Institute for Public Policy Studies Inc.
(labor and economic issues)

Search Connecticut News Sources

Factiva
Searches dozens of CT publications and news outlets including city newspapers, television news sites, campus newspapers, weeklies and more. Begin your keyword search with re=usct (be sure you go to the More Options menu at the foot of the search screen, and change Search for free-text terms in: Full Article.
Hartford Courant
Full text of the Hartford Courant from 1992 - present.

Public Policy Subject Guide — Connecticut-Specific Resources

Public policy documents created by the Connecticut General Assembly's Office of Legislative Research

Connecticut General Assembly Legislative Committee directory

Sources for data on Connecticut public-policy issues

Selective list of Connecticut public policy nonprofits

Search Connecticut News Sources