LibGuides: Public Policy Subject Guide: News Sources

Key Newspaper Databases

The databases listed below provide access to newspapers globally, nationally, and locally. Searching news databases is ideal when you are interested in finding articles related to a particular topic or within a particular timeframe. To browse current headlines, please see the links available in the Keeping Up With Current News box to the right.

Newspapers through ProQuest
Cross search of 5 databases: the Hartford Courant (1992-present); Los Angeles Times (1985-present); New York Times (1997-present); Wall Street Journal (1982-present); and the Washington Post (1987-present).
Nexis Uni
Full text of various newspapers, magazines, wire services, radio and TV transcripts.
Factiva
Access to global news and business information articles.

All Library Newspaper and TV News Databases
Browse the Library's full selection of current and historic newspaper databases.
Google News Archive
Google News Archive includes full text searchable articles from newspapers around the world. Connecticut papers include the Norwalk Hour, Meriden Record-Journal, and the New London Day.

TV/Radio Transcripts

Nexis Uni
Full text of various newspapers, magazines, wire services, radio and TV transcripts.
Factiva
Access to global news and business information articles.

TV/Radio Archives

Internet Archive TV News
Search closed captions from US TV news shows and view clips from over 2,450,000 shows from 2009 to date.
National Public Radio
The NPR website provides archives of many of its broadcasts.
C-SPAN Video Library
The complete video archive of the C-SPAN cable network. including House and Senate sessions, Supreme Court oral arguments, and more.
EUScreen
EUScreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives.

Keeping Up With Current News

The links below provide direct access to current issues of popular news sources. The Library provides historic access to many of these publications as well, and they can be accessed using the Key Newspaper Databases listed to the left. If there is a publication you wish to access that is not listed below, please watch the tutorial on accessing newspapers through the Library catalog.

Want to keep up with today's headlines? Check out the resources on the News Feeds page.

Current Newspapers and Magazines

Hartford Courant
Access to CT's largest daily newspaper from 1992-to date. Historic issues may be access through ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Atlantic
American magazine featuring articles on politics, foreign affairs, business and the economy, culture and the arts, technology, and science. Coverage is from 1993 to date. Historic issues are available through Gale Literature Resource Center.
Chicago Tribune
American daily newspaper based in Chicago, Illinois. Coverage is from 1996 to date with historic issues available through ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Economist
Weekly British publication covering current affairs, international business, politics, technology, and culture. Historic issues are available through Gale Historical Periodicals.
Los Angeles Times
Daily American newspaper based in California. Coverage is from 1996 to date with historic coverage available through ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
New York Times
American daily newspaper covering domestic, national, and international news in addition to opinion pieces, investigative reports, and reviews from 1980 to date. Historic access is available through ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Wall Street Journal
American newspaper based in New York City with a focus on business and finance. Access covers 1984 to date. Historic issues are available through ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Washington Post
The Washington Post is an American daily newspaper out of Washington, D.C. recognized for its political reporting on the workings of the White House, Congress, and other aspects of the U.S. government. Coverage is from 1996 to date with historic coverage available through ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

Connecticut News Sources

Listed below are regional newspapers and news sources with large circulations or broad coverage. Many of these sources are predominantly web-based and have little coverage in Library databases.

Hartford Courant
Full text of the Hartford Courant from 1992 - present.
Hartford Courant (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
Full-text of the Hartford Courant from 1764-1998.

CT Mirror
Online news source covering public policy, government, and politics in Connecticut. Web access only.
CT Post
Provides coverage for the city of Bridgeport, southwestern Connecticut and the Naugatuck Valley. Web access only.
CT Public
Connecticut’s state-wide, community-supported public media service. Member station of national public media services PBS and NPR,
New Haven Register
Provides coverage for the city of New Haven and New Haven county, CT. Web access only.
New London Day
Provides news coverage for New London and southeastern Connecticut. Web access only.
Norwalk Hour
Provides coverage for the city of Norwalk in Fairfield County, CT. Web access only.
Stamford Advocate
Provides coverage of southwest Connecticut and Fairfield County. Web access only.
Waterbury Republican American
Provides news coverage for northwestern Connecticut. Web access only.

Public Policy Subject Guide — News Sources

Key Newspaper Databases

TV/Radio Transcripts

TV/Radio Archives

Keeping Up With Current News