LibGuides: Public Policy Subject Guide: Law and Regulation

State

CT General Assembly
The CGA website provides a searchable database of bills. Information provided includes the text, voting records, committee actions, fiscal notes, analyses, bill history, bill supporters, and public hearing testimony.
CT Office of Legislative Research (OLR)
OLR provides nonpartisan objective research for General Assembly members and their caucus staff. The OLR website provides access to bill analyses, Public Act summaries, and special reports.
CGA Legislative Committee Directory
Link to CGA Committees, including Public Safety and Security. Each Committee page contains links to relevant commissions, state agencies, and associations. The "Archives" link includes bills committee reports, etc. from prior sessions.
CT Sentencing Commission
The Connecticut Sentencing Commission's website provides information on legislative proposals and testimony. The site also provides links to helpful criminal justice resources.
CT Digital Archive (CTDA)
The State Library contributes digital copies of documents pertaining to the General Assembly to CTDA.
CT Secretary of the State eRegulations
This database provides access to proposed and published regulations.
Municode
Municipal codes for 1600 local governments in the United States. Access open to all Internet users.
CT State Register & Manual
The Register & Manual provides an annual snapshot of Connecticut state and local government.
State Constitutions of the United States
A survey of the constitutions of all 50 US states, as well as the US territories, American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and Puerto Rico. Arranged alphabetically by state, each profile includes the constitution's history and influences, and its division of powers. EBSCO eBook.
National Survey of State Laws
National Survey of State Laws (NSSL) is a print and online resource that provides an overall view of some of the most asked about and controversial legal topics in the United States. Coverage provided through HeinOnline.

Federal

Code of Federal Regulations
The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) is the official legal print publication containing the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
Federal Register
The official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
Supreme Court of the United States
PDFs of oral arguments back to 2000. Access open to all Internet users.
Congress.gov
more...less...
Full-text bills and bill tracking back to the 93rd Congress (1973) and also Congressional committee information.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
CRS works exclusively for Congress, providing timely, objective, and authoritative research and analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of political party affiliation.

CQ Electronic Library
Full-text of CQ Press publications and online resources including the CQ Weekly, CQ Researcher, and CQ Congress Collection. UConn users only.
Legislative Insight by ProQuest
Full-text publications generated in the course of U.S. Congressional lawmaking including bills, reports, documents, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, presidential signing statements, and statutes. UConn users only.
HeinOnline
Full-text of law reviews, federal documents, and Supreme Court materials. UConn users only.
Nexis Uni
Full text of various newspapers, magazines, wire services, radio and TV transcripts. UConn users only.
Supreme Court Insight
Full opinions from U.S. Supreme Court-argued cases from 1975-2016 that includes per curiam decisions, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices, amici briefs, and landmark decisions. UConn users only.
Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs
Records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court between 1832-1978. UConn users only.
Regulatory Insight
Includes administrative law histories including notices, proposed rules, and final rules with a direct basis in a specific public law. UConn users only.

Conducting Legislative Histories

The UConn Library, in conjunction with the UConn Law Library, offers access to a number of legal databases; Nexis Uni (an academic version of the Lexis-Nexis database) provides full-text access to law reviews, and state and federal regulations, statutes, and cases. Legislative Insight by ProQuest provides legislative histories for select federal legislation (for more information on conducting a legislative history, see the Federal Legislative History and Analysis guide). Hein Online is terrific for access to scanned volumes of Congressional Record and many other legal reference materials.

Public Policy Subject Guide — Law and Regulation

State

Federal

Conducting Legislative Histories