Resources for Medieval Studies
Please remember that spellings can and do vary from document to document:
- The same person can have his last name given as Wiclif, Wicliffe, Wyclif, Wycliff, and Wycliffe.
- Book can be spelled as bok, boke, and bokke, and dog can be spelled as dogg, dogge, and even as doke.
- Material on Moors might be written about using such terms as Mudejars, Moriscos, and Saracens.
- Bratislava, Pozsony, Pressburg, and Prešpurská are all names for the same place. Similarly, the same city can have its name spelled Florentia, Fiorenze, Florenz, Firenze, and Florence. Madrid was at one time Mayrit.
Researchers should whenever possible consult the database's thesaurus or, if none exists, consider the variant spellings and alternative terms that may be used.
-
Bloomsbury Medieval StudiesIncludes more than 150 scholarly ebooks including the Global Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages , along with museum images and an interactive timeline.
-
Dictionary of Old English Web CorpusCompiled by the University of Toronto's Dictionary of Old English Project, the Dictionary of Old English: Corpus is a largely complete record of the surviving Old English corpus, the exceptions being some variant manuscripts.
-
Documenta Catholica OmniaOnline access to a collection of available texts and writings from Holy Popes, Councils, Church Fathers and Doctors, and Allied Auctors. Content is a pulled from various online sources and formatted in .doc and .pdf formats and provided on this website maintained by the Cooperatorum Veritatis Societas. Also known as Migne.
-
Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its ReceptionThis DeGruyter database is designed for scholars in biblical studies and related fields, including Medieval Studies. The online edition contains the entire contents of the printed edition (volumes 1–14 as of 2017), as well as many articles ahead of print, and is updated quarterly.
-
International Medieval BibliographyProvides citations to articles about Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.
-
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages & RenaissanceSummarizes 250,000 articles and reviews published in 375 medieval and renaissance journals discussing the period from 400-1700 CE. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
-
Middle English CompendiumIncludes information on Middle English lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500 from the Middle English Dictionary, a Bibliography of Middle English prose and verse, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse.
-
MLA International Bibliography
Scholarly articles, ebooks, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies in literature and linguistics.
-
Oxford Bibliographies - Biblical Studies
Provides an annotated bibliography covering works related to biblical studies.
-
Oxford Bibliographies - Medieval StudiesProvides an annotated bibliography covering books in the field of medieval studies, including history, literature, art, archaeology, and linguistics.
-
Oxford Bibliographies - Renaissance and Reformation
Provides an annotated bibliography covering works related to the Renaissance and Reformation periods.
Patrologia Latina (aka Migne): see the Documenta Catholica Omnia, above
-
State Papers Online: Early Modern Government in Britain and EuropeIncludes manuscripts and other primary source content including the British State Papers (1509 -1782) covering 200 years of British and European history, from the reign of Henry VIII to the end of the reign of Queen Anne.
None of these resources is dedicated to medieval studies, but all contain information that can assist researchers. The cautions given for the dedicated resources apply here: medieval spellings were not uniform, and names can be spelled in different ways, as can individual words and specific terms.
-
Academic Search Premier
Includes articles from scholarly journals and popular magazines covering a wide variety of disciplines with the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
-
Art Abstracts & Art Index RetrospectiveSummarizes scholarly articles about art published in national and international journals, with much on Medieval Art and Artists. 1984-indexes: 1994-abstracts. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
-
Bibliography of the History of ArtBibliography of scholarly writing about the history of western art. Includes articles from over 1,200 journals many dealing with Medieval Art and Artists. Includes the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and the Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA), 1975-2007
-
Cambridge CoreAccess to articles and select ebooks published by Cambridge University Press.
-
Early Arabic Printed Books from the British LibraryFull text access to pre-twentieth-century Arabic printed books and translations.
-
Early European BooksFull text access to ebooks and rare incunabula printed across Europe, mostly in non-English languages, from 1450 to 1701.
-
Grove Art Online
Includes articles on every aspect of the visual arts (painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography) from prehistory to the present. Access for 14 users at a time.
-
Historical Abstracts with Full TextProvides selective indexing of historical articles from thousands of journals and books in a wide variety of languages, with many discussing the events and people of the Middle Ages. 1955-current. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
-
JSTORScholarly journals in many academic fields, especially arts, literature, humanities, and biology.
-
Loeb Classical LibraryOnline access to the Loeb Library series of Greek and Latin texts, along with their English translations covering drama, poetry, literature, history, biography, travel, and philosophy.
-
Medline (EBSCO)Scholarly journal articles about health and medicine, with many on Medieval Health and Medicine. Search Medline with ERIC, PsycINFO, and Academic Search Premier through EBSCO. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
-
New Pauly: Encyclopedia of the Ancient WorldOnline access to the English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996.
-
Oxford Music OnlineComprehensive encyclopedia of Western art music (classical music), with much on Medieval Music. Also includes the Oxford Dictionary of Music and Oxford Companion to Music.
-
Philosopher's IndexSummarizes scholarly articles in all areas of philosophy, with much that can be used for researching Medieval Philosophy. 1940-current.
-
PhilPapers: Philosophical Research OnlineComprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers, with much that can be used to research Medieval Philosophy. PhilPapers hosts the largest open access archive in philosophy.
-
Project MUSEFull-text of over 200 journals in classics, education, history, literature, medieval studies, etc. 1829 ebooks in the social sciences and humanities. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
-
Religion and Philosophy CollectionCovers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, with much on Medieval Religion and Theology. Access restricted to University of Connecticut.
-
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Includes citations and abstracts for journal articles, essays, Festschriften, dissertations, books, and scholarly reviews on music and related disciplines.
-
Theologische Realenzyklopädie OnlineMore than 25,000 original scholarly articles, published 1976-2004, on theological subjects relevant to researches in history, philosophy, religion, and medieval studies,
.
Getting Full Text Articles and Chapters
In a database, look for
UConn Full Text will help you
1. Get the full text online if UConn subscribes to it
2. Request what we do not own
3. Request scans of articles and chapters we own in print through Interlibrary Services
