LibGuides: Physics Subject Guide: Databases

How to Best Search Databases?

Use the Boolean search operators AND, OR, NOT to either broaden or widen your search. Multiple search terms will yield more accurate results.

Here is a list of selected databases that you may find useful for your research in physics at UConn:

ACM Digital Library
Provides access to journals, transactions, proceedings, and newsletters published by the Association of Computing Machinery.
arXiv.org
Includes articles covering physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
Engineering Village
Cross search of two engineering databases: Inspec & Compendex. Indexes scholarly articles in physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology.
IEEE Xplore
Full-text journals, conference proceedings, and IEEE Standards in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.
IGI Global
Thousands of ebooks covering the areas of business, education, and technology.
Inspec
Indexes scholarly articles in physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology from the Institute of Electrical Engineers (IEE).
inSPIRE HEP
A database of physics literature, predominately High-Energy Physics, maintained by CERN.
IOP Journal
Full-text to articles in journals from the Institute of Physics.
Knovel
Over 800 full-text engineering and scientific reference works, handbooks, encyclopedias, reference books, and standards in engineering and chemistry.
Optica
Access to articles on optics research published by the Optical Society of America.

Physical Review Online Archive
Full text articles published by the American Physical Society.
ScienceDirect
Includes full-text to a select number of journals and eBooks covering social sciences and hard sciences from 1995 to the present published by Elsevier.
SciFinder-n
Includes online access to Chemical Abstracts and the CAS Registry File of over 19 million chemical substances.
For use by UConn faculty, staff, and students. Access for UConn affiliates is not permitted.
Scitation
Articles from scholarly physical science journals, published by the American Institute of Physics, its member societies, and other affiliated organizations.
Scopus
Scholarly journal articles and conference papers on any topic in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities. Includes cited references and h-index information.
Springer Nature Link
Includes full-text access to a select number of journal titles in scientific, technical, and medical fields published by Springer.