Skip to main content

Chemistry Subject Guide — Databases and Journal Articles

Top Picks Databases for Chemistry

Scopus is a great resource for searching science literature, and also has additional features including author searches and affiliation searches. Affiliation search allows you to see the scholarly output of an institution and identify top research areas and authors from that institution. You can also analyze search results with visualization tools to get quick information about your search. 
Reaxys has great training materials and tutorials on their website to help you make the best use of this powerful database. Reaxys is especially useful for indentifying reactions and syntheses, experimental procedures, and properties. It's also a great resource for general Chemistry literature. 
See the following links for more information:

The Caltech Library also has a great Reaxys tutorial on their LibGuide which breaks down search strategies and exporting results to a citation manager. 
SciFinder requires registration the first time you use it and is limited to UConn faculty, students, and staff. Please follow this link. 
SciFinder includes chemical literature, information on substances and reactions, and has patent search capability. Many tutorials and videos are available on the SciFinder website and are available in several languages. 

 

Other Chemistry Databases

Analytical Abstracts is a literature updating service keeping you up to date with recent developments in analytical science. The searchable updates consist of article abstracts and details of analyte, matrix and technique. Analytical Abstracts contains records from dozens of different journals, and covers a wide range of topic areas from materials science to food analysis, and from pharmacology to environmental monitoring.
Engineering Village allows you to search across multiple databases to get the most relevant results. You can save searches to your personal account and create your own tags to easily find results again. Create an account to save searches and results, and to receive search alerts. Engineering Village will also link to relevant records in Scopus. 
Engineering Village provides tutorials and FAQ on search techniques in their database. See the tutorials for more information. 
Knovel also has training videos for many topics. Here are some specific tools you may wish to use:
If you are working on research involving biomedical-related Chemistry topics, PubMed may be useful to you. PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. 
Searching PubMed is slightly different than searching most academic databases. You may want to view this tutorial on how to search: Pubmed Tutorial
Additional help on specific search topics can be found at the Pubmed Help page

How to Read a Scientific Article

Research articles are written for researchers and so can be difficult to understand for undergraduate students. Here are some sources to help you learn how to read research articles.

Getting Full Text Articles and Chapters

In a database, look for
UConn Full Text button

UConn Full Text will help you

1. Get the full text online if UConn subscribes to it
2. Request what we do not own through Interlibrary Services
3. Request scans of articles and chapters we own in print through Interlibrary Services

Note: Due to COVID-19 restrictions, Scan on Demand is not available. Check to see if we own the journal in print. Request a scan using Scan on Demand

Understanding Journal Abbreviations

You can use the CAS Source Index (CASSI) to identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907