Chemistry Subject Guide — Handbooks, Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Provides a comprehensive survey of modern biochemistry and molecular biology. Includes definitions of terms from the fields of Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology

K.C. Nicolaou - Winner of the Nemitsas Prize 2014 in Chemistry At long last, the mechanism-based and application-oriented handbook of combinatorial chemistry. Since its very beginning, research in this field has continued to develop at a rapid rate. Increasingly elegant methods are being invented and an even wider range of possible applications is still being discovered, such that combinatorial chemistry is now an integral part of industrial and academic research. The high-class editorial team - K. C. Nicolaou of The Scripps Institute and UCSD, and R. Hanko and W. Hartwig from Bayer - ensure comprehensive coverage and top quality contributions. This two-volume work deals with synthetic chemistry in all its forms, applications from life sciences, chemistry and material sciences, all there is to know about compound library design and synthesis, and, of course, the general basics - making it an indispensable reference for synthetic, organic and medicinal chemists, chemical biologists as well as material scientists.

Bretherick s Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards is widely regarded as "the" reference work in this field an assembly of all reported risks such as explosion, fire, toxic or high-energy events that result from chemical reactions gone astray, with extensive referencing to the primary literature. It is designed to improve safety in laboratories that perform chemical synthesis and general research, as well as chemical manufacturing plants. Entries are ordered by empirical formula and indexed under both name(s) and Chemical Abstracts Registry Numbers. This two-volume compendium focuses on reactivity risks of chemicals, alone and in combination; toxicity hazards are only included for unexpected reactions giving volatile poisons. The 2-volume set is available on an introductory price of $320/ 270/ 185 until Jan 2007. Will then revert to the list price of $395/ 330/ 230. Order your copy at the introductory price now. * Predict, avoid, and control reactivity danger with this latest edition of the leading guide * Covers every chemical with documented information on reactive hazards; more than 5,000 entries on single elements or compounds, and 5,000 entries on the interactions between two or more compounds * Includes five years of new reports, new references to the primary literature, and amplification to existing entries * Links similar compounds or incidents that are not obviously related"

The Handbook of Chemical Risk Assessment exhaustively examines and analyzes the world literature on chemicals entering the environment from human activities. The three volumes cover chemicals recommended by environmental specialists of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and other resource managers. The choices were based on the real or potential impact of each contaminant and on the knowledge available about their mitigation. The information for each chemical includes source and use; physical, chemical, and metabolic properties; concentrations in field collections of abiotic materials and living organisms; deficiency effects; lethal and sublethal effects; and proposed regulatory criteria for the protection of human health and sensitive natural resources.

Sustainable development is now accepted as a necessary goal for achieving societal, economic and environmental objectives. Within this chemistry has a vital role to play. The chemical industry is successful but traditionally success has come at a heavy cost to the environment. The challenge for chemists and others is to develop new products, processes and services that achieve societal, economic and environmental benefits. This requires an approach that reduces the materials and energy intensity of chemical processes and products; minimises the dispersion of harmful chemicals in the environment; maximises the use of renewable resources and extends the durability and recyclability of products in a way that increases industrial competitiveness as well as improve its tarnished image.

This Handbook is an authoritative reference for process and plant engineers, water treatment plant operators and environmental consultants. Practical information is provided for application to the treatment of drinking water and to industrial and municipal wastewater. The author presents material for those concerned with meeting government regulations, reducing or avoiding fines for violations, and making cost-effective decisions while producing a high quality of water via physical, chemical, and thermal techniques.

A complete restructuring and updating of the classic 1982 Handbook of Chemical Property Estimation Methods (commonly known as "Lyman's Handbook"), the Handbook of Property Estimation Methods for Chemicals: Environmental and Health Sciences reviews and recommends practical methods for estimating environmentally important properties of organic chemicals.

This book makes it easy for you to find what effect environment has on the corrosion of metals and alloys. However, this volume offers information on additional environments including concrete, soil, groundwater, distilled water, sodium acetate and more. There is also updated and expanded coverage of previously discussed environments as well as information on environments which deal with the dairy, food, brewing, aerospace, petrochemical and building industries. The environments are listed alphabetically. Each listing includes a general description of the conditions, a comment on the corrosion characteristics of various alloys in such a situation, a bibliography of recent articles specific to the environment, tables consolidating and comparing corrosion rates at various temperatures and concentrations for various alloys, and graphical information. Also included are summaries on the general corrosion characteristics of major metals and alloys.

The CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook, Third Edition is the most comprehensive source available for data on engineering materials. Organized in an easy-to-follow format based on materials properties, this definitive reference features data verified through major professional societies in the materials field, such as ASM International and the American Ceramic Society. The third edition has been significantly expanded, most notably by the addition of new tabular material for a wide range of nonferrous alloys and various composite materials.

Handbook of Polymers, Second Edition, presents normalized, up-to-date polymer data in a consistent and easily referenceable layout. The book includes data on all major polymeric materials used by the plastics industry and all branches of the chemical industry, as well as specialty polymers used in the electronics, pharmaceutical, medical, and space fields. The entire scope of the data is divided into sections to make data comparison and search easy, including synthesis, physical, mechanical, and rheological properties, chemical resistance, toxicity and environmental impact, and more. The data enables engineers and materials scientists to solve practical problems, be that in applications, research and development, or legislation.

Handbook of Biodegradable Polymers, the seventh volume in the Drug Delivery and Targeting book series, provides a source manual for synthetic procedures, properties and applications of bioerodible polymers. The authors describe widely available materials such as polyactides, collagen and gelatin, as well as polymers of emerging importance, such as the genetically-engineered and elastin-based polymers which are either proprietary or in early stages of development. Section I addresses synthetic absorbable polymers, and Section 2 profiles natural, semi-synthetic and biosynthetic polymers. Section 3 discusses the surface characterization of degradable polymers, the modeling of biodegradation and non-medical polymers. This book is ideal for researchers from academia and industry as well as chemists, pharmacists and physicians who deal with biopolymers, drug delivery and targeting, bioengineering and implantable devices.

This dictionary contains 7,724 terms with more than 2,300 cross-references used in polymer science, processing and engineering.

This comprehensive handbook will be an indispensable research tool for chemists, Handbook of Palladium Catalysed Organic Reactions provides a synoptic description of the main types of reactions which are catalyzed by Palladium and the mechanism which causes these reactions. Each reaction is presented in graphical form and classified according to the type of transformation involved.

Edited by a renowned expert in organic chemistry, this book updates: * Biopolymers * Electronegativity * Nomenclatures for supramolecular compounds * Properties tables for atoms, radicals, and bonds * Line-angle structural drawings *. Complete Coverage of: * Organic compounds * Inorganic compounds * Properties of atoms, radicals, and bonds * Physical properties * Thermodynamic properties * Spectroscopy * Physicochemical relationships *Electrolytes, electromotive force, and chemical equilibrium * Laboratory manipulations * Polymers, rubbers, fats, oils, and waxes

Poss offers an index to the table of contents of major references. He also describes journals, collections of reviews, and internet resources and includes a search orientation table that steers seekers of information about a specific topic to appropriate references.

Soil Physical Chemistry, Second Edition. With comprehensive and contemporary discussions on equilibrium and kinetic aspects of major soil chemical process and reactions this excellent text/reference presents new chapters on precipitation/dissolution, modeling of adsorption reactions at the mineral/water interface, and the chemistry of humic substances. An emphasis is placed on understanding soil chemical reactions from a microscopic point of view and rigorous theoretical developments such as the use of modern in situ surface chemical probes such as x-ray adsorption fine structure (XAFS), Fournier transform infrared (FTIR) spectroscopies, and scanning probe microscopies (SPM) are discussed.

This book provides an introduction to physical chemistry that is directed toward applications to the biological sciences